Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This gumbo was surprisingly easy to make. My roux came out perfect the first time, I was patient with the stirring process! I did not put any sausage in the gumbo and it still came out great. I did however added a bag of frozen okra to the simmering pot and poured it over rice once it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
It is time consuming to make the roux, but well worth it. My husband loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
My 6-year-old and I really liked this a lot, but I agree with my Cajun husband that it was a little thicker than gumbo is supposed to be. I'll make it again for sure, but will probably thin it out with some broth or water to suit his tastes. If you are looking for something the consistency of a stew this will probably suit your tastes, otherwise be prepared to add more liquid than the recipe calls for. Also, I omitted the salt and used 1 1/2 tsp. of Tony Chacherie's seasoning and the spice was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I have never had gumbo. I made this exactly as the recipe. I love it. I am going to have to go to Lousiana if this is how the food tastes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crested Mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
The first time I made this I was too impatient and didn't brown the roux long enough. The second time I took the time and made sure it was browner. I'd definitely take the time to let it brown. Also, I am from Maryland so I added 1 lb of shrimp with Old Bay seasoning sprinkled on it. not authentic gumbo, but we like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kait

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
this one is going into my repertoire! definitely add the okra. I used a 3 lb chicken and it was a bit too much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
The roux was not difficult to make as long as you take your time, keep it on lower heat and stir constantly. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Jodi, thank you so much - made it for a dinner party and everyone RAVED!! Truly a spectacular meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BMWCHK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
OH MY!!! I am currently working in Iraq and I had the incrediants sent over to me. I only had one shot of getting this right....it was perfect. I followed to a T with the exception I added a little extra cajun seasoning just cause we like it a little extra spicey. Served over white rice with a glass of ice tea....can't go wrong!!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States