Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Solid gumbo - good, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was sooo good! first time making gumbo and i will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I make this at least once a month. It's an excellent recipe and has genuine cultural flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe was fabulous! This was my first attempt at Gumbo and my husband LOVED it! I followed the recipe EXACTLY. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
will be making this today but i do have questions. as i will be making changes i don't know what file is. can you help me on this. i am going to watch all the videos for roux whick i've never made either as it may help someone that doesn't cook much. i am more of a crockpot guy--ha ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I don't know where I went wrong but the 1 cup of oil just ruined this dish for me. It had a very oily feeling in my mouth that I did not care for. I used Canola oil and had no problem achieving the chocolate color that other reviewers said was a must after 25 minutes of cooking the roux. I followed the recipe exactly and it smelled delicious but I just could not stomach the oily feel and taste in my mouth when I ate it. Tried serving the leftovers with rice but that didn't help it. I will try using a recipe with less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is an awesome recipe!! I have used it many times since I discovered it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was my first experience with Gumbo, and we were very satisfied. I followed the recipe exactly, but found that the gumbo turned out very very thick. I had to double the chicken broth to give it a stewy texture. I added leftover rice to it and stored it in the fridge, but when reheating I found that It was way to thick again. I added even more broth to it to thin it out again. Aside from that, the flavor was very good, and we will be eating it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Made this tonight; KEEPER!! I searched for a cajun/jambalaya/gumbo recipe without tomatoes; this was a little greasy, but tasty. Five stars, but use plain rice, because rice from a mix will be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Yummy, but gives me a stomach ache. Use polish sausage instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States