Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
i TRIED THIS RECIPE THIS PAST SUNDAY AND HAD FAM & FRIENDS OVER AND IT WAS A SUCCESS. THE GUMBO TURNED OUT AWESOME.. GREAT RECIPE AND THANKS FOR POSTIING IT..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great flavor! Probably the easiest gumbo recipe I've ever made, too! This was a great addition to the tailgating menu when we played The Saints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Ditto on the comments that the roux will need to cook longer (especially for a chicken/sausage gumbo). I have cooked and stirred for over 50 minutes to get a rich dark chocolate reddish roux. It is worth the time. Also, when making a roux you might try 3/4 cup oil to 1 cup flour. The key is to use equal weights of fat a flour. Use a good vegetable oil, no olive oil or butter and the roux will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poemania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Safety Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is a good basic recipe. I cooked my roux for about 25 minutes and it was still too light. I will cook it longer or use the premade kind when I make this again. I used 4 chicken breasts I had boiled in cajun seasoning. The next time I make this I will add gumbo vegetables. This recipe was tasty, it was just missing something. Be careful with the salt as cajun and creole seasoning contains a good bit anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Luv this recipe!!! Taste great. I did add some cayenne pepper to make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is very, very good. I took other reviewer's advice and cooked the roux a little longer, letting it get darker (20 mins). Also, I used chicken drumsticks - didn't have a rotisserie chicken. I browned them in oil and put them in with the sausage & veggies. The meat fell off the bones! I understand creole seasoning or file is best, but being in Connecticut, it's not easy to find so I used the "Simple Cajun Seasoning" mix (1 tbsp) from this website. It reminds me of my mom's gumbo, which she learned from my Cajun dad's family in Welsh, LA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is the real deal darlin! But I don't make my own roux anymore. Makes your house smell for days & it's easier to buy. Look for Tony Chachere's products at your grocery store... you'll save yourself a ton of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finding_rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
great - the key is the roux. nice and dark is great flavor. If you drink one beer while stirring roux it should be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I love this recipe but the last time I made it, I made my roux in the oven with NO oil. Being on Weight Watchers, this reduced the points considerably and you really couldn't tell the difference! I also used two 32-oz containers of chicken broth - it was great! It's a recipe I'll continue to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Turns out 8-10 minutes doesn't get me that chocolate brown roux. Ended up with blonde roux. No biggie, used it along with some extra ingredients and was extremely pleased with the result. I imagine it will be even better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunchwacky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States