Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe.. I had to use what I had on hand so I made some changes that turned out GREAT and my family loved it.. I used 7 bullion cubes and 8 cups of water instead of 6 cups broth.. I made my own creole seasoning and put about 3 palm full, maybe about 3 or 4 tablespoon. And instead of celery I dumped in a can of corn, and instead of cooking the rice separate. I dumped it right in the pot. It was soooo good. I saved it and will be making this again.. Oh yeah, and I used left over turkey from Christmas instead of chicken :D Waste not want not! Great recipe.. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great taste but for some reason my gumbo was soooo thick! I think I will cut the roux in half and follow the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We really enjoyed this! After reading all the other reviews I think I will add less oil next time. I used about 3/4 cup of vegetable oil and 1/4 cup of olive oil. I also added some okra near the end. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
So good! I wasn't going for 'traditional' gumbo, I just had smoked sausage I had to use up and so I searched and this came up - delicious! I added red beans (which I know would horrify anyone looking for traditional, but so good!) and a can of green chilies. I used two tablespoons of penzies cajun seasoning & a tsp of salt. Served over white rice - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahume1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made this gumbo tonight, bu I made the roux this morning before work to speed things along. It took me about 30 min to achieve milk choc. color instead of 10. *TIP - after sitting in the fridge, the excess oil in my roux floated to the top and I was able to skim it off, so I think you could use less than 1 cup of oil to begin with! Other than that the only change was that I only cooked the whole thing 1 hr. instead of 2. I had a couple bottles of hot sauce at the table so we could adjust the heat to our individual tastes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My husband made this tonight (perhaps that's where the problem started, haha!) and it didn't turn out very good at all. It tasted like bland gravy with mushy sausage in it. It didn't have very much flavor. Perhaps he needed to go heavy on the seasoning. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I'm not a great cook, but I followed this recipe very close, making sure not to burn the roux. I made this Gumbo three times, and to my delight everyone who eaten it loved it and wanted the recipe. I love orka, so I added orka, but thats the only thing I did to different from the orginial recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
It was really good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
i have to say that after moving from Houston i missed cajun food, this gumbo was absolutely delicious !! i did add Okra towards the last 45 minutes of it but the flavor was fantastic !! a definite keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
OK... next time we will use only half the roux as originally called for. I scorched the first batch so my husband (from southern LA) made the second batch for me. We added a lb of okra towards the end. I was afraid of how much NuNu's to put in so used very sparingly... next time we will at LEAST double the 1/2t. we did use. We didn't use chicken broth just water. Also I was instructed (by hubby) to leave out the bay leaf therefore we just tossed in the already cooked chicken and simmered for the one hour. after the hour we had to add another 1 1/2 cup water.. it turned into something resembling gravy and after the water still a little too thick. But did smell delicious! I can't wait to make this again!!! Even my picky runts ate it up so definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyttenalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States