Cajun Catfish Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Well, being from Baton Rouge the word "cajun" caught my interest so I had to try this. Just had it tonight and found it delicious. The fish is mouth-watering tender and the sauce very good. I did have to make a few slight adjustments. I am not crazy about blackened seasoning so substitues Tony Cacheres Creole Seasoning. Added some extra mushrooms and some half n half to add some richness and cut back some of the salt. Cream of shrimp can be a little salty and I found that this combination helped eliminate that. Overall a very good dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Excellent recipe! I have made this two times now. The 1st time I couldn't find Cream of Shrimp soup so I used Cream of Mushroom and it was still good. If I used Mushroom again I would use 1 can and some Half & Half. Soup mixture was very thick. I think it depends on which brand you use. The 2nd time I used Cream of Shrimp and BOY was it worth it. It was absolutely amazing. Use the Cream of Shrimp if you can find it. Will be using this recipe for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Awesome dish! Cooked this for our super bowl party last night and it was gone in an instant. I used catfish nuggets for an easy appetizer-like dish. This will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
My family (none of which are huge seafood fans) LOVED this. They kept talking about dinner long after the dishes were washed and put away. I subbed Tilapia, added lemon pepper to sauce, used cooked cocktail shrimp (added just b4 baking) and about 1/2 the butter. If no shrimp at hand, xtra mushrooms would be great. Only baked for 20 minutes. Great over plain white rice. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This was good. I did reduce the amount of butter in the recipe. The only suggestion the husband made was that he thought it would be better with tilapia...and I happen to agree. I think that catfish has too much flavor and it kind of drowns it out a bit. We will definately use again, but will probably try with tilapia. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This was absolutely fabulous! I made it for my husband and he said it reminded him of something he'd get at the restaurant Pappadeaux. I would probably not add as much butter next time but I have to admit it was yummy just the way it was. I used precooked frozen shrimp and it worked just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
My boyfriend and I absolutely adored this! Oh goodness it was sooooo good over herb rice! YUMMY!!!!! scaled down to four, didn't have cajun blackened seasoning so improvised by using regular cajun seasoning, a pinch each of thyme, garlic powder, paprika, onion powder, black and white pepper. did use cream of shrimp soup. It doesn't get much better than this. Next time i might add a bit more spice, leave out the catfish and add crab and. . . . it is so GOOD! thank you thank you thank you Lu Post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lharv01
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I have made this recipe twice now and my friends and wife swear I need to start a restaurant of my own.Thanks to the original poster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lharv01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This is, by far, the best thing I have ever made! In the 10 years that I have been cooking for my family... I shocked my husband! Of course, with a few adjustments. Being in Alaska, I used halibut instead of catfish. In step 3, I added a small can of mushrooms-undrained (instead of fresh), sweet onion instead of green, 1 can cream of celery soup and 1/2 cup sour cream (instead of the crm of shrimp). And finally, served over fettucine noodles. Yummo! We usually pay $20 a plate for this at our local resturant! Never again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
My husband loved this recipe and went back for seconds! For my seasoning, I used Garlic Pepper Blend and lightly used Seasoning Salt since others said it was too salty in the end. Campbell's Soup makes the Cream of Shrimp Soup. I'm not sure if it's sold in all 50 states or not. I read where some people had problems finding it. I used dried parsley since I already had it. And I cooked fish in olive oil since a stick of butter for the recipe seemed like a bit much. Although I did use 4 tbl spool to saute the mushrooms, parsley, green onions and shrimp. I served it over brown rice and it came out great. My husband gave me a double A+ for presentation as well. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States