Cajun Catfish Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Fabulous recipe! I've made this several times. I've used tilapia and it was great. I use less butter and I increase the blackened seasoning. Sometimes I top it with grated parmesan cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I thought the recipe called for a pound of catfish until i realized i was wrong when it was too late..... i went ahead and did the recipe exactly like it said... i did not think that two cans of cream of shrimp made it too salty at all. It was good but not that good.. maybe next time i would add more cajun seasoning, i would like it to be spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Liked the catfish, didn't like the sauce. Maybe my shrimp weren't the best but the sauce was very "fishy". I've never cooked with the Cream of Shrimp soup before, maybe if I'd substituted one or both of those cans for cream of chicken/mushroom/celery I would have enjoyed it more. Didn't hate it, just didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANDREWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This was good. I did reduce the amount of butter in the recipe. The only suggestion the husband made was that he thought it would be better with tilapia...and I happen to agree. I think that catfish has too much flavor and it kind of drowns it out a bit. We will definately use again, but will probably try with tilapia. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Very good. I made the following changes - used 2 tablespoons butter, and only 1 can of cream of shrimp soup diluted with 1/2 soup can heavy cream. This might explain why I didn't find it as salty as some reviewers have noted. I've also used tilapia with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This was a good recipe--nice change of pace with catfish. I will make this again, though, I thought that it had too much butter involved--I'll try 1/4 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Well, being from Baton Rouge the word "cajun" caught my interest so I had to try this. Just had it tonight and found it delicious. The fish is mouth-watering tender and the sauce very good. I did have to make a few slight adjustments. I am not crazy about blackened seasoning so substitues Tony Cacheres Creole Seasoning. Added some extra mushrooms and some half n half to add some richness and cut back some of the salt. Cream of shrimp can be a little salty and I found that this combination helped eliminate that. Overall a very good dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
My very picky husband had seconds and asked me to make it again less than a week later. I used cilantro instead of parsely and cream of mushroom instead of cream of shrimp. I also added a tiny bit of half&half for richness. I agree it was a tad salty but overall an excellant recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Very good over rice. Two thumbs up for this recipe. Even if you don't like catfish I think you'd like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe!!! Used canned mush instead of fresh and dried parsley instead of fresh. Still came out to die for!! Found cream of shrimp very easily at Albertsons (DALLAS, TX)although couldn't find at walmart!! Beautiful for company!!! thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States