Cajun Catfish Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
My boyfriend and his cousin loved this dish. I served it with a salad and greenbeans. The only thing I did differently was use tilapia instead of catfish. I had jumbo shrimp at home so I used those also instead of the small ones. I guess it would have been 6 stars if I would have done the part with the mayo and refrigeration but I was pressed for time so I just seasoned the fish with a creole seasoning and went from there. All the soup in the grocery store was $.99 except the cream of shrimp, it was regular price LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Very Good! Omitted the butter and used olive oil. I doubled the spices. Did not use shrimp. used 2 cans of low-sodium cream of mushroom. Everything else I follow except I baked fish for 30 min at 425deg. Very moist and tasty. Will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
My boyfriend, originally from Mississippi said this tasted GREAT if without the catfish and he picked all the catfish out. He said this IS a cajun dish. I on the other hand would like to say that I cooked this recipie as it was prinited with the exeption of one can Cream of Shrimp Soup and one can Cream of Mushroom Soup/Low Sodium. I did everything to the tea as called for and I am from California so maybe my taste buds are different but...This was disgusting. It was the FISHIEST tasting dish ever. It was SALTY. I LOVE SALT....So if it tastes salty to me, that is a sign of SALTY SUPREME. I will never attempt to make this again and gave the 2 stars for my boyfriend, ft they were for myself I'd have given none. I ended up eating a TV dinner which wasn't more complimentary but a lot better than Cajun Catfish Supreme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I would give it more than 5 stars if I could! Sooooo delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
It was different, and was what my husband was looking for. He grew up in Lousiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was a super easy recipe. I made it for work and it went over very well. I liked that it stayed moist and flavorful, and the color was appealing. However, next time I will omit the mayo and use half grape seed oil or olive oil rather than the whole stick of butter. Very good over rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. I've made it twice so far. Instead of using two cans of soup, I used one can of fat free cream of mushroom, a cup of half and half and a half cup of white wine. I also added cayenne because I love it. This was served with lemon orzo on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is one of my favorite seafood recipes. Always a big hit. I usually make it with tilapia. I made it for my mother in law shortly after my husband and I got married, and it passed with flying colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good recipe. I haven't had anything quite like it before. I actually think that it would havbe been better with a different kind of fish though. Next time I am going to add other types of seafood too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Indian Head, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I enjoyed the taste of this dish, however next time I make it I will change a couple things. When you transfer the catfish to the dish, drain the remaining butter from the skillet before cooking the remaining ingredients. I would also pick the pieces of catfish out of the skillet to help keep down the grease. I would also use low sodium shrimp soup if found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Pecoraro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States