Cajun Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I loved this cake. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I make this for a work potluck. It was very moist, and the topping was good, but I thought the cake itself lacked flavor. You couldn't tell there was pineapple in there at all. I poked holes in the cake before pouring the topping over it. My coworker, however, raved about the cake. He's not much of a sweet tooth, but I am! So that's probably why we have differing opinions on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I have made this cake many times however, I only use 2 cups of flour, not 3, I also add 1/2 cup pecans & 1/2 cup coconut in my cake batter. This makes for a much more moist cake and it will never have any left over. when making the topping I cook mine 5 minutes instead of 2 makes for a more stable topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Genoa, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
My family absolutely LOVES this cake! After reading the reviews, I used brown sugar in place of white, added pecan halves to the cake batter, and poked lots of holes before spreading the topping. The pineapple really makes the cake. It's so dense and moist. Will be making again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This looked like a hot mess as I was making it but it ended up being one of the most moist and delicious cakes I've ever made. I made it for a friend that was a big fan of pineapple and she and all the other party guest gobbled it up! Really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gr8mariner
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
excellent recipe i used brown sugar for toping and walnuts instead pf pecan every one loved this cake here in pakistan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Used brown sugar instead of white sugar for the sauce to make it more of a caramel sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I do not consider myself a baker - AT ALL! This recipe was easy to follow and my family RAVED about this cake! That's all that matters to me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Made this for a Mardi Gras dinner and it was a big hit! Almost like praline on top. I even messed up and didn't add the pineapple to the cake, so I squeezed the juice out and when the cake came out, I made holes in the top of the cake with my spaghetti tongs and put the pineapple on the cake before the frosting. I will try it the correct way next time, but my point is, this cake is excellent even messing it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Amazing cake! Will make again and again. Had it for dessert after some spicy jambalaya and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States