Cajun Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I was disappointed in this cake, I too found it to be bland tasting and heavy. It was better when warmed to bring out the flavors but overall very disappointed. I make one very similar using 1 large can peaches puréed and only 2 cups flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I loved this cake. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I make this for a work potluck. It was very moist, and the topping was good, but I thought the cake itself lacked flavor. You couldn't tell there was pineapple in there at all. I poked holes in the cake before pouring the topping over it. My coworker, however, raved about the cake. He's not much of a sweet tooth, but I am! So that's probably why we have differing opinions on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I have made this cake many times however, I only use 2 cups of flour, not 3, I also add 1/2 cup pecans & 1/2 cup coconut in my cake batter. This makes for a much more moist cake and it will never have any left over. when making the topping I cook mine 5 minutes instead of 2 makes for a more stable topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Genoa, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
My family absolutely LOVES this cake! After reading the reviews, I used brown sugar in place of white, added pecan halves to the cake batter, and poked lots of holes before spreading the topping. The pineapple really makes the cake. It's so dense and moist. Will be making again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This looked like a hot mess as I was making it but it ended up being one of the most moist and delicious cakes I've ever made. I made it for a friend that was a big fan of pineapple and she and all the other party guest gobbled it up! Really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gr8mariner
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
excellent recipe i used brown sugar for toping and walnuts instead pf pecan every one loved this cake here in pakistan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Used brown sugar instead of white sugar for the sauce to make it more of a caramel sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I do not consider myself a baker - AT ALL! This recipe was easy to follow and my family RAVED about this cake! That's all that matters to me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Made this for a Mardi Gras dinner and it was a big hit! Almost like praline on top. I even messed up and didn't add the pineapple to the cake, so I squeezed the juice out and when the cake came out, I made holes in the top of the cake with my spaghetti tongs and put the pineapple on the cake before the frosting. I will try it the correct way next time, but my point is, this cake is excellent even messing it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States