Cajun Cabbage with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is a nice change from a typical stuffed cabbage casserole, with the cajun touch. I used a 1/2 cup of frozen homemade recaito (a pureed Puerto Rican style sofrito cooking base) in place of the garlic, onion, and green pepper. I did add one chopped green pepper because I had it and it needed to be used. I'm pretty sure my casserole ended up with a much bolder flavor than the original recipe would have had, but it was really really yummy! Also, instead of the spices indicated, I used 3 teaspoons of a homemade creole seasoning blend I have in the pantry. I layered the cheese and cabbage on top because I didn't want a glob of cheese on top. I used brown rice and had to cook mine 15 min longer. Also, the sofrito added some extra liquid, plus I used lean beef and did not drain the pan so that helped make enough liquid for the brown rice and extra cook time. This was really good and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
We loved this recipe!! We used ground turkey, but we want to try lean ground beef next. We added a little hot sauce and creole seasoning after we served it, but we add that to almost everything. I liked another review's idea of adding chili powder. We may also try that. Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
If you like just a bit of spice in your meal, this is a perfect recipe. Omitted bell pepper and used 3/4 cup of Zatarains cajun rice because it was all I had at this time. Cabbage was a great compliment to the spice. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joejoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was mediocre at best..prepared as written..the beef mixture had a nice taste but put together with the cabbage and cheese it still was not enough to bring it up to a two star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Just thought i would try a different recipe for cabbage I love it so needed to find on that I could make on a regular basis.....Well this one does it for me...I followed it to a tee and really you dont have to change a thing...For all the people who say their cabbage burns on top just cover it with a layer of leaves just like old fashioned cabbage rolls you won't have a problem....actually I did change one thing...I sprayed the casserole dish I had with cooking spray then put a layer of cabbage then meat mixture then a bit more cabbage followed by the leaves...also omitted the cheese but feel free to add just before eating or reheating....Love it Chow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good! I used the Johnsonville New Orleans sausage instead of ground beef. The only thing I did different is that I didn't have to precook the sausage so I just mixed everything in a bowl first without even precooking the veggies. Came out perfect! Thank you for this recipe....the cabbage was an excellent twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I was looking for something different and this is it. I smothered it with cabbage and cheese and they can't stop eating! Thanks for a new idea to use the same old boring ingredients in a way that is more exciting for a Thursday night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Everyone loved this. More like a deconstructed stuffed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Had ground turkey and a cabbage from our garden.. didn't know what to do with it and found this recipe. Am I ever glad I did!!! I tweaked it just a bit because I didn't have a couple things, and substituted a bit. Otherwise, I kept the recipe as is. I used the ground turkey and added a little worcestershire sauce and extra black pepper when browning with veggies for flavor (I had no white pepper, but didn't really need it). Accidentally used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, but with the brown rice, it worked since brown rice needs a little more moisture. I had no shredded cheese on hand, so sprinkled the top with parmesean cheese and broke apart some low fat sliced provalone I had and laid it out on top. Yes it's spicy.. but sooooo fantastic! And super easy!! I'd give this 10 stars if I could!! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Yummy recipe. Shared it with some coworkers and they loved it. The cabbage really made it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna.grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States