Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
We LOVE this recipe but like someone else said boiled peanuts are an acquired taste :) And I think one of those things that you either love or hate, there's really no in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
My family and I thought these were fantastic! I have a "normal" sized crock pot, and found a 1.5 oz bag of peanuts worked perfectly. I used HALF of an Old Bay seafood one-step shrimp & crab boil 3 oz package, and instead of the jalapenos, some (about half cup?) tabasco sauce. I also added some kosher salt (1-2 cups?) since I like em salty. Cooked them in the crock pot on high stirring occasionally for 10-12 hours. Had no problems with maintaining water level. The taste was fantastic, and due to popular demand had to make a second batch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Oooo These are SPICY! If you like HOT food these are great. I think Boiled PEanuts are an acquired taste. And being from the South I have definitly acquired a taste for Boiled Peanuts. These is a great recipe. Reminds me of the peanuts you can pick up on the side of the road from local farmers in the south. Yum! Great for Football season!! I always bring Boiled Peanuts to tailgate! Be careful not to overcook the peanuts. Nobody likes mooshy Peanuts after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
At noon, in a 6 qt oval slow cooker, I put 3 pounds of raw peanuts (could not put more in there), 3 oz of crab boil and 4 oz diced jalapeno peppers with juice. I had Old Bay on hand but did not use it. At 10 PM I added some sea salt but had to be careful since I'm being treated for high BP. Next day at 2 PM I enjoyed a bunch of them. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Tried this boiled p-nut recipe and loved it!! Thanks it was a big hit with the guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teyes400

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I tried to follow the advice of the two reviewers below by adding salt and reducing the quantity. Although I'm glad I used 3 lbs instead of 5, I am NOT happy about the .75 cup of salt I added! I used two 3 oz. boxes of Kroger dry crab boil and the can of jalapenos. There was NO NEED to add any salt! The mustard seeds in the crab boil were salty enough! Now it tastes saltier than pure salt! But I found that if I spread the peanuts out on a large baking sheet and wait overnight, the dried peanuts taste much better because the mustard seeds fall right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Florida is known for its boiled peanuts. Boiled Peanut carts are everywhere. When a dear friend came to Jacksonville who loves these peanuts, we tried this recipe. They were perfect. We had them in the crockpot for 36 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I slow boiled them stove-top with this recipe plus Kosher salt. My crew likes the spice, next time will add LA. hot-sauce. I guess it depends on where you live, the raw peanuts are varied in maturity. Just taste them as they cook. I pulled them off the stove after about 2 hours. They taste even better the next day. Treat them like Southern Edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I altered the recipe by reducing the amount of peanuts to 2 12-oz bags, used a combination of hot chili pepper flakes and jalepeno slices, a little bit of sugar (1 tbsp) to cut the heat but still get the flavor, and I would never use anything but Old Bay Seasoning (crab boil). I'm giving four stars because I did have to alter the recipe to come up with a five-star result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These were delicious. The heat snuck up on me, at first I couldn't taste it but after awhile it was definitely there. I agree with the size, none of my crock pots would hold that much (we shrunk down the overall recipe and boiled them in pots.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States