Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I WAS DISAPOINTED, I COULDN'T EVEN GIVE ANY AWAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I'm not sure how this recipe can call for 5 pounds of peanuts?? Even using an extra large crock pot, I could not put that many in. I filled it with as much as I could, probably too much, for I could not get enough water in it. I ended up cooking them over night, then adding more water in the morning, and continued to cook on low the rest of the day and early evening. I also added salt. After all that said....they are very tasty, and I will try again with less peanuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
My family and I thought these were fantastic! I have a "normal" sized crock pot, and found a 1.5 oz bag of peanuts worked perfectly. I used HALF of an Old Bay seafood one-step shrimp & crab boil 3 oz package, and instead of the jalapenos, some (about half cup?) tabasco sauce. I also added some kosher salt (1-2 cups?) since I like em salty. Cooked them in the crock pot on high stirring occasionally for 10-12 hours. Had no problems with maintaining water level. The taste was fantastic, and due to popular demand had to make a second batch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I rated the recipe a 4 but w/ modifications it was a 5 star success. Like the others...no way will my crockpot hold 5 lbs & it is a lg. crockpot. I used 1 1/2 lbs (although I probably could have doubled it...just wanted to give the recipe a try first), decreased the spices according & I, too, added at least a cup of kosher salt. Can't imagine the peanuts w/out it. I ahve been munching on them all day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Since I don't know how boiled peanuts are supposed to taste, I have no idea if I did this wrong, or if I just didn't like them. I added salt like suggested and they cooked for about 10 hours overnight. It wasn't something I would eat a ton of, but I am very glad I tried it. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Florida is known for its boiled peanuts. Boiled Peanut carts are everywhere. When a dear friend came to Jacksonville who loves these peanuts, we tried this recipe. They were perfect. We had them in the crockpot for 36 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I lived in Jacksonville Florida for a month years ago and wanted to duplicate the wonderful spicy boiled peanuts sold roadside there. This recipe isn't it. I got a Zatarain's crab boil package and it tasted more like dill than spicy. Plus they need some salt added, they were very plain. This was a waste of 5lbs of peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Oooo These are SPICY! If you like HOT food these are great. I think Boiled PEanuts are an acquired taste. And being from the South I have definitly acquired a taste for Boiled Peanuts. These is a great recipe. Reminds me of the peanuts you can pick up on the side of the road from local farmers in the south. Yum! Great for Football season!! I always bring Boiled Peanuts to tailgate! Be careful not to overcook the peanuts. Nobody likes mooshy Peanuts after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I tried to follow the advice of the two reviewers below by adding salt and reducing the quantity. Although I'm glad I used 3 lbs instead of 5, I am NOT happy about the .75 cup of salt I added! I used two 3 oz. boxes of Kroger dry crab boil and the can of jalapenos. There was NO NEED to add any salt! The mustard seeds in the crab boil were salty enough! Now it tastes saltier than pure salt! But I found that if I spread the peanuts out on a large baking sheet and wait overnight, the dried peanuts taste much better because the mustard seeds fall right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I slow boiled them stove-top with this recipe plus Kosher salt. My crew likes the spice, next time will add LA. hot-sauce. I guess it depends on where you live, the raw peanuts are varied in maturity. Just taste them as they cook. I pulled them off the stove after about 2 hours. They taste even better the next day. Treat them like Southern Edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States