Cajun Blackened Redfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Great recipe despite the Italian seasoning. I'm from New Orleans and blackened anything is a winner. FYI: we don't say "Nawlins". That's a northerner thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Fresh fish always are better. This is a great cajun recipe, almost blinded myself searing it. The cayenne in the face and all. That is my fault though. I am gonna try it with catfish next. Like my Mom said, if it is smokin' it is cookin'. When it is black it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I fixed this for my husband and he just kept saying, Oooo Weeee! So I guess it was delicious! He said he would definitely love to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Easy prep and delicious. Be careful not to overcook, easy to do if not careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. It definitely filled the Cajun craving that I was having. However, I thought the spices slightly overpowered the fish and left me wanting more fish and less spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
LOVE. This will be my "impress company" recipe. It's easy and quick. Pan seared according to size of filet and only baked for about 8-9 minutes. We added lump crab meat on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navasota, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Not great. Waaaay too salty and too much lemon flavor. And with the Italian dressing it doesn't make sense to call this "Cajun" blackened redfish. I suppose one could tinker with the ingredients but it seems a lot easier to just pick up a commercial blackened fish seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This may taste good but this is not blackening, it's just cajun seasoning. Blackening is cooking in a firey hot skillet and must either be done outdoors or under a super strong kitchen fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was good if you like Lemon pepper and Italian dressing. We don't; and we especially don't like them together. I did not find the taste of this to be very authentic Cajun. I liked the process and I am glad to know how to blacken something. I can use that knowledge on other fish, chicken and so on. Next time I will use the peppers but not the lemon pepper and will make a different sauce. I may use "herbs de provence" next time as I think a french blend would be more authentic than "italian" dressing. I used a striped bass I caught instead of the red fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Big taste difference from the Louisiana original (from Chef Paul Prudhomme) with half of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajunrick
Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States