Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
The people who had trouble with this recipe definitely didn't make it correctly. Eight ounces of macaroni means one-half pound, not one cup. I mixed the cheese into the milk before adding it to the macaroni. I also used seasoned croutons in place of bread crumbs and added some bacon bits to the topping mixture. All in all, a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
WOW!!! This was excellent. Try using extra sharp or sharp cheddar cheese. I added about 4 oz of processed cheese (velveeta type) and about 1/2 cup sour cream just to make it even creamier. You won't taste the sour cream. Great without the breadcrumbs too. Nice comfort food. And even easier to make if you just mix everything together, then add the macaroni and mix well. This insures every piece of pasta is covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is NOT your Kraft shells and cheese or boxed macaroni. This recipe a typical southern style baked macaroni - chewy and creamy. Family members fight over the corner pieces. I weigh my pasta rather than measure and the recipe has turned out perfectly every time - everyone in the family loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Great warm-weather comfort food! It sounded like it had the potential to come out greasy because of the 3 1/2 cups of Cheddar, so I used half Cheddar and half Kraft Melts (4 cheese combo). It turned out nice and creamy and not runny as others might have mentioned. Keep in mind, when measuring pasta, they don't mean 8 fluid oz (or 1 cup). They mean 1/2 pound. I think this is what confused some people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was by far the best homemade mac and cheese I have made. It was even good the next day warmed up. I used skim milk, lowfat cheddar cheese, colby/jack and lowfat mozzerella. Very creamy. I did substitute crushed Ritz crackers for the bread crumbs--that's what my mom used to put on it when I was a kid--adds that buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Yum - great flavor. I added about a cup of sour cream to mine because it wasn't quite creamy enough. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
As written, I couldn't figure out how this could possibly become thick and creamy. So, I first made a roux with butter and flour, added my milk and seasonings, stirred until nicely thickened, turned off the heat and just kept added the cheese until I was happy with the flavor. I used cheddar and pepper jack for some spice. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
My husband and I really liked this! Unfortunately we didn't get to taste the topping. I put it in the broiler for two minutes, but I didn't stand guard: when I was ready to take it out, the entire dish was on fire. My husband blew on it until it went out, we silenced the smoke detector and opened the screen door, and scraped off the top layer. I am probably the only person inept enough to have this outcome, but I thought I'd pass the warning along just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Great recipe. I was skeptical at first because it seemed way too easy, however it turned out great. I did alter the recipe a bit by mixing in a 1/2 cup of fat free sour cream at the end (before adding bread crumbs to the top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is straight out of Sandra Lee's cookbook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Katie*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States