Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I found this recipe to be very greasy. I would probably double the amount of pasta next time and only use half the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I think this macaroni and cheese is classic. Been making it for years now. It is very similar to the baked mac & cheese you might get at a good cafeteria. The texture is chewy and cheesy. The crusy edges are perfection. This is NOT a creamy, velveeta sort of mac & cheese. If that's what you want, you won't like this. I have always followed the recipe to the letter, and it is perfect - my friends love it, my family loves it. The "bite" that it gets from the dry mustard, the hot sauce and worcestershire is great - not too much, so it isn't really spicy. It's just really tasty! This is good, old-fashioned, southern, potluck ladies' mac & cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Yummy!!! Made this last night and it's simple, and changes the way you look at mac'n'chees. For more flavor I added a dash of hot sauce and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Flavor was good, but it wasn't creamy - almost dry. I melted the cheese in the hot milk - it melted nicely. I will make again, but not our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this recipe and used 3/4 cup half and half and 3/4 cup milk. I omitted the hot sauce and substituted Ritz crackers for the bread crumbs and added them to the top of the mac and cheese closer to the end of the baking time. It was really good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this today and am happy to say it was exactly what I was hoping for...in reading some previous posts I realized that most people here dont realize that baked mac and cheese is very different from ordinary mac and cheese and in being raised up with southern women, I have had the priviledge of being able to get real southern mac and cheese...the only thing different I did was added 2 cups of the sharp cheddar to the milk mixture, 2 C of it in the mac and almost 2 cups on top and I added more breadcrumb mixture...I also used evaporated milk instead of reg. milk...I really liked the way it came out...if you are looking for a creamy sweet processed cheese type then this recipe is NOT for you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I didn't make any changes to this... I should have! It was decent, nothing special. The cheese didn't spread evenly, and overall was bland. The only thing I really enjoyed was the crumbs and paprika after it was under the broiler. I will be making my favorite mac and cheese recipe with that on top next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I love homemade mac & cheese. And after reading all the recipes here, I knew this was the recipe I had been looking for. This is good old fashioned, "homestyle" macaroni & cheese like I used to eat at family reunions in Indiana. I reduce the mustard to just 1 teaspoon and I use half extra sharp/half mild cheddar, and add 4 oz Velveta and it is perfect. This recipe is easily adapted to gluten free since it doesn't have any flour. For "breadcrumbs" I mix half grated parmasan cheese with rice crumbs. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was my first attempt at homemade mac 'n cheese and I might just have to go back to the blue box! It was bland and not creamy at all - more like clumps of cheese here and there, not throughout the dish. I think I once read that you can't use pre-shredded cheese for mac 'n cheese? Maybe that was the problem. Either way, I won't be making it again and I'll probably throw out the leftovers - I'm glad I only made half the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I made this as instructed minus the hot sauce. I also bought parmesan croutons and crushed them up vs using plain old bread crumbs. It added a better crunch and flavor to it. As for baking, the broiling at the end is great as it gives it the top the extra crunchy texture. Overall, I am giving it a 4 as I don't think I'm done tweaking the recipe or searching for something better. Maybe it was the Worcestershire sauce...don't know yet, but not bad for an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States