Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this last night for my boys so I could go have dinner with Dad. I actually just prepped it for the crockpot so that I wouldn't heat up the house more than it already was. I used whole wheat pasta, fat free evaporated milk and 2% sharp cheddar cheese. I made my own bread crumbs out of whole wheat bread, too. I did undercook the pasta just a little so it could finish in the crockpot and it was only in the crockpot on HIGH for two hours. My husband and two boys inhaled it. Huge amount made, little amount left. I would say it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Followed exactly; Pretty good recipe, I would leave off the paprika in the future. It tends to upstage the flavor of the dish and is a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was fantastic. I pretty much followed the recipe, except I added cooked bacon on the top and put in a little more cheese (maybe even a little too much). The hot pepper sauce is great, and if you like your food a little spicier then go ahead and add a little more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I recently moved overseas and was looking for a nice taste of home. This definitely did the trick! I made the mistake of adding a bit of garlic powder to it--definitely didn't need it, and I wouldn't recommend it. Follow the recipe, and you'll be in for a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganigans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is the best macaroni & cheese that I have ever had. I didn't use all of the ingredients, as I didn't have them. I only used the macaroni, cheese, milk, butter and bread, but it turned out great. My kids LOVED it! This is our new mac & cheese recipe. It was really easy to make, with little prep time, which is a must with four kids. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Have made this numerous times now and it's always been a hit. Have done it with a variety of cheeses from mild to old as well as added some blue at times. Only actual change I do make is to add one beaten egg to the milk mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magog, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is my standard mac and cheese recipe now! It is pretty easy (a lot of dishwashing, but not a big deal) and not overly heavy. Kids and hubby equally enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I think this is a delicious mac and cheese recipe. My oldest daughter wouldn't touch it though! I did add a little sour cream per other reviewers. I didn't do the bread crumb topping it's just not my thing. Will make this again thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I was some-what excited about dinner today since we were all in the mood to cook. Well, I took one bite of the so-called "Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese" and totally and completely fell in love with this tasty treat. I could not stop eating it. The classic, yet delicious Macaroni and Cheese with delightfully crispy bread-crumbs, a hint of mustard, sprinkle of paprika, a drip of hot-sauce... This amazingly fantastic dish is one the whole family will enjoy forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ironwannabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I don't like most of what my family serves on Christmas Eve so I decided to make something that I could eat as a full meal and this was it. I was sure glad I did! This was very good - I love the little bit of zip it had thanks to the Worcestershire sauce, ground mustard & hot pepper sauce. Later, as a gift, I gave all the women in my family a cookbook assembled with my favorite recipes. They all wanted to know if this one was in there (it wasn't since I had never made it before) and they were disappointed that it wasn't. It will definitely be in the add-in pages that I gift this year for their cookbooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States