Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The fat content of the cheese makes all the difference. I used 1/2 and 1/2 and it was fine. I used all FF cheese in the next back and it was not nearly as good. I also threw in a scrambled egg on the first batch because I was afraid of having a soupy casserole but turns out it wasn't needed. Nice flavor but be selective on the cheese you use for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
LOVED this! I like mac & cheese that is chewy with crunch-like my Grandma would make, not all slimy like kraft. Instead of the buttered bread crumbs I just crushed some Ritz crackers on top. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Awesome recipe!! I make it so much that I pretty much eyeball it now and it's always a big hit. One thing i did do was cut back on the ground mustard just a bit and I also don't do the bread crumb topping, just top off with a bit more cheese and we're set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I took this to a family cook-out and they absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was so good I had to force myself to stop eating it! The Worcestershire sauce and mustard powder really added great flavor. I didn't have any macaroni so I used medium-size shell pasta, which worked just fine. I had looked online to see how many cups of dry pasta = 8 ounces and it said to use 2 cups. However, after I boiled the 2 cups of dry pasta and then mixed everything together, it was really soupy, so I ended up boiling some more and added that into it. And I'm glad I did because it came out nice and moist but not runny whatsoever. So in total, I used about 2 1/2 cups of dry pasta. I also mixed about 1 tsp. of garlic powder into the topping, which I thought added nice flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
If you want creamy mac & cheese skip this recipe. This was a sticky mac & cheese the kind you need a knife to cut and it keeps it shape of a square when you take it out of the baking dish. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
mixed reviews in my house..me: very easy to make, I followed the recipe exactly. Cooked up very nice. I thought it was almost too cheesy but it reheated nicely. My husband loved it, thought it was some of the best he has had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I've made this macaroni almost every big holiday for the past 2 years and it's always a big hit. The only thing I added is some finely chopped onions; it gives it a nice twang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mountain City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
ALWAYS a hit! My dad would make this when I was growing up and I'm continuing the tradition. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I was a little leary about the method for making this - I'm a tried a true "white sauce" maker for mac & cheese. I have to say that this was just as good and a lot easier. Very tasty. Definately going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States