Cafeteria Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This was so good!! I used a 2 lb. bag of baby carrots and steamed them for 45 minutes, so they were very easy to mash with a potato masher. I think getting carrots that are already cleaned and peeled was important for this recipe because that way you know you will have the 2 lbs the recipe called for. That might be why some others had that "eggy" taste - mine didn't at all. I used 3/4 cup sugar and that was the perfect amount for me. (I like it sweet!) I also added cinnamon and nutmeg and baked it for an hour based on other reviews. I will be making this all the time now because my two and a half year old daughter who wont even think about eating carrots loved this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This was good, and almost didn't taste like carrots! I cut the sugar to a 1/2 cup,and added a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg.As a past reviewer mentioned grating the carrots before boiling,I decided to try that,and it was very easy to mash the carrots that way.I also followed another reviewers advice to bake for an hour to let it carmelize,that made it good, and it didn't burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I love this recipe. I use two cans of sliced carrots instead cooking fresh carrots. I just drain them and mash them with a potato masher. It is a very quick and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This souffle tastes EXACTLY like the one made by Piccadilly Cafeteria! DEEEELICIOUS! There are a two caveats, though: 1. If you don’t have a food processor that will chop the carrots VERY fine, it’s not worth making this recipe – it will taste like…boiled carrots. I thought I could “chop” up the boiled carrots with my hand mixer, but it didn’t work too well. The large chunks of carrots didn’t taste good at all. It also didn’t look very appetizing. 2. If you are halving or otherwise modifying the amounts in the recipe, ROUND DOWN on the eggs. I rounded up, and it made the soufflé very eggy-tasting and too moist. Otherwise, GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I made this and had just a few tips. Definitely use a Cuisinart to blend the carrots after they're cooked. I tried to use my ricer and the carrots broke it!! And I cook it at least an hour to get the carmelizaiton that I love so much. Also, DO NOT substitute margarine for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
This recipe became a family favorite overnight!! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used only half a cup of sugar instead of a full cup. I was the only one at the table that thought it was still a bit too sweet. The sugar and eggs masked the taste of the carrots almost completely, in my opinion, so I may use less of those in future attempts. I boiled the carrots for about 30 minutes instead of 15 - they were very easy to mash. All in all, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I love this recipe. I have made it several times. I use 2 eggs, brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice. This is a hit wherever I bring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Overall great recipe. My boyfriend always gets this at Piccadilly Cafeteria and he was excited when I told him I was going to make it. I read the reviews and cut sugar to 3/4 cup and butter to 1/4 cup. He liked it and said it was sweet enough but felt it needed butter. I will definitely make it again but I will use the full 1/2 cup butter, a bit more baking powder since mine didn't rise very much, and cook the carrots a bit longer (I did 1 hr this time) to see if they'll get creamier. Side note: my sister came to visit and LOVED the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This was much too sweet, but not too bad. If I made it again, I would cut the sugar in half (as other ratings suggest), and add spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This one is a keeper in our house. I thought it was a little too sweet as is, but DH loved it. Couldn't get the kids to try it, they were in a no-weird new food mood and couldn't be convinced to try even though they love carrots any other time. Go figure. Baking time seemed a bit short in the dish I used, will try something wider and shallower next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States