Caesar Salad Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
These were good, but I found them too hard (texture-wise). I prefer my croutons to have a little give to them. Store-bought croutons have to be hard so they keep for a long time, but I find them more satisfying when they're not so hard. I would skip baking them first if I made them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These are pretty good, but I think that I need to go back to the croutons that are only toasted in the oven. I have a tendency to turn my back on things on the stovetop and they subsequently burn, so not the best recipe for me. I do much better with things I don't have to watch like a hawk, and I've had success with croutons that are baked. However, I do like the idea. I didn't do the garlic and oil thing bc I bought chive oil yesterday, so I used that instead. The ones I didn't burn were pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Great croutons, are very munchable as a snack. I added savory, dried parsley and some dried chilies...not spicy but oh so yummy. The oil and butter together is the key, and I don't clarify the butter first or strain the garlic and spices out, or fry the bread...just sautee and brush on! Flip bread pieces once and brush again, it takes about 30 minutes at 300 degrees...I love these croutons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Excellent! The key is the toasting. Also, I did not squeeze the juice from the garlic as my husband doesn't do well with garlic. You could still taste it but it wasn't overpowering. Cooked the garlic only half the time because it got brown too fast. Had to make more because we kept snacking on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallieben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Didn't add the "ghee" although I did think of adding regular butter, but they were very good without either. I used 2 tb of olive oil and .5 tb of rosemary infused olive oil. I then added dry Greek herb seasoning to the oil mixture. I tossed the bread(used a day-old baguette, no need for toasting) in and baked them on a cookie sheet at 350 for maybe 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I think the trick to this recipe is baking the cubes before you fry them which most other recipes don't suggest. I had a little too much garlic oil so I won't make so much next time... Everyone loved the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Anyone wondering what the heck ghee is - it's clarified butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I thought these were really good. I think when you fry the bread in the oil/ghee mixture you need to have the temperature pretty high or the oil will just soak into the bread and make them too greasy. I am making a Caesar salad from scratch so who wants to add store bought croutons when you go to all that trouble. Thanks for this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Excellent! Made only half the recipe because I was using a mini baguette. Instead of toasting in the oven, I toasted on the bbq while I did the chicken for the caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States