Caesar Salad Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I simply browned them in the skillet with butter, olive oil, garlic powder, onion powder, grated Parmesan cheese and salt after baking for 17 min. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Way, way, way too much oil/ butter. I've been doing this for years just tossing the bread cubes in a couple of tbsb oil and using garlic powder then baking in the oven. Not near as fattening and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My family ate them like candy. Hardly had enough to put in the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
i used an 8 oz sourdough bagette for this.. used 3 large garlic cloves and 1/4 c of olive oil.. sauteed up the garlic and then mashed it into the oil.. didn't remove the chunks.. threw in the bread crumbs to soak up all the goodness.. then put it in a ziplock and added season salt, black pepper, and italian seasonings.. shook around.. baked at 350 for a lil over 20 mins.. it was so done at 19.. but it still came out good.. ty for something to start with as this is my first time making home made croutons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Great recipe but I did change it up the second time…and I’ll never go back to the original. I used 1 stick of melted butter…to the butter I added a tbsp. olive oil and the garlic. Put all the cubed sourdough bread in a large mixing bowl and slowly pour the butter mixture over the bread, be sure to mix the bread while doing so to ensure all the bread is covered. Once it’s all covered, I lightly sprinkled McCormick’s California Style Garlic Salt & Garlic Pepper on the bread…only put as much as your personal preference. Lay the final product out on a cookie sheet, one layer thick and bake in the oven at 350 F for 20 minutes…broil them for an additional minute or so…only toasting them to your preference. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitesboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Sanger, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These are so good they are evil. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great general recipe. I reduced the ghee amount by 1/2 as others did, and added a sprinkling of 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese prior to baking. Came out wonderfully crunchy and the kids were eating the croutons right out of the oven until I had to stop them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brawnwitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odum, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These turned out really good. I had to add some garlic powder and salt when frying b/c the 5 cloves I used to make the garlic oil was not strong enough for our taste. Next time I will use more than 5 cloves. I also experimented with my 2nd batch and just added the oil and salt to the bread cubes and baked them that way without frying afterward. These also turned out good but not quite as yummy as the fried ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Throw the roasted garlic away? No way! Pop it in your mouth, or spread it on some toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoundedEgo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
made this "as is" and thought it was good but a tad too hard and dry. You really have to watch them as they can burn very easy on the bottoms when cooking them in the oil. used the same recipe with fresh french bread cut into 1 inch squares and did not dry them in the oven. they came out not too crisp and just a bit chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States