Cabin Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This is a great meal, even my anti-vegetable, pop tart-fed brother likes it. I added 1 cup of frozen corn for a little more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This recipe is a winner... my hubby (who is very picky) requests this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This dish was very flavorful and so easy to make! I mashed the kidney beans while they were cooking with a potato masher to thicken it up a bit, and I put all the veggies in the food processor till it was a fine chop consistency (my kids don't like lumps too much). Overall, excellent flavor that is great over tortilla chips with shredded cheese and sour cream. Thanks for a new, quick family dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I gave this recipe 5 stars because these were some of the best beans I've ever tasted. Delicious! I didn't have tomatoe paste, so I used a little ketchup and I served them over brown rice. Even my picky 4 year old who doesn't like beans ate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I liked this dish ok. It was nothing spectacular. I only used one large can of beans. I would make this again, but not as a main dish, because it's not good enough by itself. However, I do think it would be much better served as a dip with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Yum! Only thing I did different was add some frozen corn - I served it with cheese and tortilla chips crumped on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My husband and I are on a new health kick. This was wonderful. I dislike kidney beans in sooooo many ways, but this was really really good. I made exactly as stated. I put in on tortilla chips and a litte "veggie" shredded cheese. When the tortilla chips sofentened, it was really good. I served it with baked salmon in virgin olive oil and seasoning. Hubby is getting it for the 3rd time now. Excellet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Really great!! Almost a vegetarian chili - My guys absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
MY family loved this, and I was afraid they wouldn't because they are big meat eaters. This actually satisfied them at home, and they asked if we could make it when we went on our camping trip. They said it was real rustic like a true cowboy would make.LOL. Silly kids. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I did alter the recipe a little and that is why I am giving it three stars instead of two. I left out the bell pepper and parsley because I didn't have it on hand. I also added a can of corn. Even so it was utterly tastelss. We ate it with chips and cheese and we kept adding salt, pepper and tabasco sauce to add some flavor. My husband and I didn't care for it but my kids ate it ok. Maybe adding some bullion and jalapenos might help. I don't know and I probably won't try it again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States