Cabin Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This was excellent! My family really enjoyed this dish! Even my 3 year old and 5 1/2 year old gobbled it up and my 5 1/2 year old said, "this smells so good and tastes great." She also said that she would like to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was a really good meal after a long day and not wanting to make something elaborate. We doctored the recipe up by adding a can of pinto beans too as well as adding in Beef Smoked Sausage. It gave it a "franks and beans" taste that was nostalgic, filling and even better leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NaomiB
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great for a cold winter day! I added corn to mine and used a green bell pepper instead of red. I also added a little bit extra chili paste to make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
One of my favorite easy meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I did alter the recipe a little and that is why I am giving it three stars instead of two. I left out the bell pepper and parsley because I didn't have it on hand. I also added a can of corn. Even so it was utterly tastelss. We ate it with chips and cheese and we kept adding salt, pepper and tabasco sauce to add some flavor. My husband and I didn't care for it but my kids ate it ok. Maybe adding some bullion and jalapenos might help. I don't know and I probably won't try it again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
MY family loved this, and I was afraid they wouldn't because they are big meat eaters. This actually satisfied them at home, and they asked if we could make it when we went on our camping trip. They said it was real rustic like a true cowboy would make.LOL. Silly kids. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Really great!! Almost a vegetarian chili - My guys absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My husband and I are on a new health kick. This was wonderful. I dislike kidney beans in sooooo many ways, but this was really really good. I made exactly as stated. I put in on tortilla chips and a litte "veggie" shredded cheese. When the tortilla chips sofentened, it was really good. I served it with baked salmon in virgin olive oil and seasoning. Hubby is getting it for the 3rd time now. Excellet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Yum! Only thing I did different was add some frozen corn - I served it with cheese and tortilla chips crumped on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I liked this dish ok. It was nothing spectacular. I only used one large can of beans. I would make this again, but not as a main dish, because it's not good enough by itself. However, I do think it would be much better served as a dip with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States