Cabin Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a simple to make, nutritious and yummy dinner! Very similar to a chili dish. Awesome meal that's sure to please any palate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was delicious and nutritious, as well as easy on the budget. I have no idea how this could simmer all day without going completely dry. As the liquid simmers away, the spices intensify, so keep that in mind when seasoning this dish, especially if children will be eating it. I had it with toasted whole wheat English muffin with cheddar melted on top and loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
While this recipe wasn't bad, I was expecting something else based on the photo. I guess I should have realized that there are kidney beans in it, as well as other chili ingredients, so it was user error on my part. It's, basically, vegetarian chili. Unfortunately, I had also planned vegetarian chili for the same week and bought all the ingredients for it. I might make this again, but I'm going to use white beans or butter beans, cilantro, jalapenos, etc. and half the chili powder, cumin and turmeric to make it taste more like the picture and less like chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
So easy. So healthy. I added corn as a previous reviewer suggested. Even better the next day. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I guess if I was starving in the woods, this would be good. As it was, meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and loved it! It was delicious, both my husband and I had seconds. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Love love love this! My first ever "curry" recipe and it turned out soooo well! I added 1 can of corn w/o the juice, added about half a jar of tomato jauce (was what i had) I didn't have any cumin or parsley so I just used 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning for susbstitute. I did puree the kidney beans, and it gave the mixture a nice consistency, like others had said I don't prefer lumpy texture. THe added corn gave it a nice crunch. Will be making this again! Tomorrow I might try with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very good! The spices remind me of some sort of Indian flavored chili- my husband said I should put it in a contest. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is even better if u add 1/2 lb browned hot sausage!! Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
A very good recipe, although nothing to bring down the house. Nice and hearty with rice. I'll definitely make it again as it's a great recipe for a double batch in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States