Cabbage Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Good basic recipe. I doubled the filling and cooked the 1st batch in the crockpot. I found them to be slightly dry and bland. For the 2nd batch, I added a 15 oz jar of salsa to the tomato/diced pepper mixture. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this for myself and froze the rest for later but I cooked only 4 cabbage leaves and I did it in the slow cooker for 2 1/2 hours. I doubled the tomato sauce instead of the tomatoes with chilies. I also did not have the chili powder so I doubled the garlic and used 2 Tbsp of Taco seasoning in its place and the flavor was fantastic! You will need extra sauce for the reheated rolls if you freeze any as they do absorb the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have made these for years. In the south they r called cabbage rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandi pitner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Amazing... Baked these in the oven with foil. The only change I made was using saffron rice. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
These were very good. I did make a few adjustments because I didn't have all the ingredients. They were magnificent nonetheless. :) Here's what I did: I cut the recipe in half and cooked the 4 cabbage rolls in the slowcooker for 2.5 hours instead. I did not have chili powder at all, so I just used about 2 T of taco seasoning. I doubled the garlic, did not have diced tomatoes with chiles, but used about half a 16 oz can of tomato sauce in the meat mixture and about half of what was left on top of the rolls. I had a few cherry tomatoes that were on their way out, so I chopped them up and sprinkled them on top along with half of a small can of green chiles. My boyfriend is quite the eater, but he was stuffed after just one roll/tamale for dinner. As far as the problem some have had with cabbage leaf size, it's possible that US cabbages are so large where some of us are that it's not an issue at all, as it wasn't for me. Just try the largest cabbage you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
What size cabbage leaves are being used!? No way could I fit all that filling into 8 leaves. But it is so good, I will be going out to buy a bigger cabbage to fit the rest in. Next time I will cut the filling in half. Veggie "ground beef" tastes really good in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Wonderful recipe, I put the whole head of cabbage in the boiling pot of water for easier removal of the leaves. Next time I will add some ground pork and fresh chiles as I found them slightly dry and a little mild. This recipe will be added to my favourites, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I am very impressed with this recipe. Thank you for sharing it. I did modify the spices only to work with what I have on hand and it worked out wonderfully. This is an easy prep item with a great result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This recipe turned out amazing. It is so healthy and yummy which are two of my criteria for food. It is also easy. I think next time I am going to add some ground sausage to add more dimension to the flavor. I will repost when I do to re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States