Cabbage Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Amazing... Baked these in the oven with foil. The only change I made was using saffron rice. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
These were very good. I did make a few adjustments because I didn't have all the ingredients. They were magnificent nonetheless. :) Here's what I did: I cut the recipe in half and cooked the 4 cabbage rolls in the slowcooker for 2.5 hours instead. I did not have chili powder at all, so I just used about 2 T of taco seasoning. I doubled the garlic, did not have diced tomatoes with chiles, but used about half a 16 oz can of tomato sauce in the meat mixture and about half of what was left on top of the rolls. I had a few cherry tomatoes that were on their way out, so I chopped them up and sprinkled them on top along with half of a small can of green chiles. My boyfriend is quite the eater, but he was stuffed after just one roll/tamale for dinner. As far as the problem some have had with cabbage leaf size, it's possible that US cabbages are so large where some of us are that it's not an issue at all, as it wasn't for me. Just try the largest cabbage you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
What size cabbage leaves are being used!? No way could I fit all that filling into 8 leaves. But it is so good, I will be going out to buy a bigger cabbage to fit the rest in. Next time I will cut the filling in half. Veggie "ground beef" tastes really good in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Wonderful recipe, I put the whole head of cabbage in the boiling pot of water for easier removal of the leaves. Next time I will add some ground pork and fresh chiles as I found them slightly dry and a little mild. This recipe will be added to my favourites, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I am very impressed with this recipe. Thank you for sharing it. I did modify the spices only to work with what I have on hand and it worked out wonderfully. This is an easy prep item with a great result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This recipe turned out amazing. It is so healthy and yummy which are two of my criteria for food. It is also easy. I think next time I am going to add some ground sausage to add more dimension to the flavor. I will repost when I do to re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Because it is Mexican flavored meat mixture "wrapped" in cabbage instead of husks, it is a very imaginative name!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These are easy and fun to make. A nice change for us. Thank you for posting this imaginative take on the recipe forTamales
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crawford, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
First - these are NOT Tamales - that said, they are good cabbage rolls. I did cut the recipe in half and did them in the crockpot. I used one can of Rotel and was afraid there was not going to be enough 'sauce'. I added more salsa - enough to cover the cabbage rolls. They were perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States