Cabbage Success Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This was my first time cooking cabbage and I had no idea what I was doing. I had a hard time having so much cabbage in the pan. I put a lid on it so that the steam would make it cook a little more even. It came out really good and my boyfriend loved it too. Next time I might add garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a really delicious recipe and so easy to make! A great way to use up leftover cabbage. I agree with some others that "creamy" may give the wrong impression, but don't let that throw you off this is still a great dish. I add a little flour before the brown sugar to make the sauce a little thicker, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Tried this because it had basic ingredients that I already had..It was really good and easy! I love that it called for white pepper but because my 4yr old finds it" too spicy " I went light on the pepper and added just a little cumin. Everyone love it, when the kids will eat it it's a keeper-Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was surprisingly delicious! As suggested by another, I added 2 tablespoons of flour to the milk mixture and the sauce was nice and creamy. I also added lots of salt and pepper. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I cooked this recipe successfully, hoping for a recipe with more healthy vegetables in it, and it has become an easy frequent side dish for dinner for my boyfriend and I! Thank you! The ingredients are easy to find and simple to follow :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I thought this was very good. I made it as a side dish on St. Patty's Day and it got great reviews. I did find that the sauce was a little runny so I made a rou with butter and flour and added it to the sauce. It was a great improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was really yummy! I didn't have whole milk so I used 1%. I am pretty sure it probably tasted the same only didn't thicken. Also, I forgot it simmering on the stove and when I came back it was a little curtled(no one said anything to me though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stampspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was really tasty, a little sweet but in a good way that complimented the cabbage and onion. I added garlic pepper seasoning and simmered on low with the lid on for 30 minutes. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe is very good. I did have a little trouble thickening the sauce once I put the cabbage and onion in the pan, as they both shed water as they cooked. I simply turned up the heat to evaporate the water, and it thickened nicely. I should have added more salt and pepper, though. At first my husband and I thought it tasted like warm cole slaw, but one bite led to another...and another. I halved the recipe and we completely finished it. This will be a do-over, and next time I'll watch my seasonings a little more. It's not a comparison to a fried cabbage side, but it's a creamy, delicious side all the same. Paired well with my meat loaf. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States