Cabbage Success Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This was my first time cooking cabbage and I had no idea what I was doing. I had a hard time having so much cabbage in the pan. I put a lid on it so that the steam would make it cook a little more even. It came out really good and my boyfriend loved it too. Next time I might add garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I had hopes for this, but I will have to agree with the last review. I will just stick with my fried cabbage with bacon, onion, garlic salt, and black pepper, fried in bacon drippings and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I thought this was very good. I made it as a side dish on St. Patty's Day and it got great reviews. I did find that the sauce was a little runny so I made a rou with butter and flour and added it to the sauce. It was a great improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a really delicious recipe and so easy to make! A great way to use up leftover cabbage. I agree with some others that "creamy" may give the wrong impression, but don't let that throw you off this is still a great dish. I add a little flour before the brown sugar to make the sauce a little thicker, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I'm sorry but this recipe was really awful. The "cream suace" looked like watered down milk and it tasted bad. ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This tasted ok. If I make it again I will use a small onion,a tig less brown sugar and add a touch of thichening to the milk as it was not what one might call creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Boyd Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Tried this because it had basic ingredients that I already had..It was really good and easy! I love that it called for white pepper but because my 4yr old finds it" too spicy " I went light on the pepper and added just a little cumin. Everyone love it, when the kids will eat it it's a keeper-Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was surprisingly delicious! As suggested by another, I added 2 tablespoons of flour to the milk mixture and the sauce was nice and creamy. I also added lots of salt and pepper. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a recipe that you either like it or you don't. I say that because half my family liked it when I made it the first time, and the other half did not, we are ALL cabbage lovers. MY personal opinion is that I prefer the fried style of cabbage. I tweaked this recipe the second and third time making it. I added caraway seeds (1tbs) along with BLACK pepper instead of white. I also added some crispy fried bacon. Reduced the milk to half a cup. So that is why I gave only three stars. I for my taste had to make several adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States