Cabbage Success Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This was my first time cooking cabbage and I had no idea what I was doing. I had a hard time having so much cabbage in the pan. I put a lid on it so that the steam would make it cook a little more even. It came out really good and my boyfriend loved it too. Next time I might add garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I'm sorry but this recipe was really awful. The "cream suace" looked like watered down milk and it tasted bad. ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I had hopes for this, but I will have to agree with the last review. I will just stick with my fried cabbage with bacon, onion, garlic salt, and black pepper, fried in bacon drippings and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I thought this was very good. I made it as a side dish on St. Patty's Day and it got great reviews. I did find that the sauce was a little runny so I made a rou with butter and flour and added it to the sauce. It was a great improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This tasted ok. If I make it again I will use a small onion,a tig less brown sugar and add a touch of thichening to the milk as it was not what one might call creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Boyd Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a really delicious recipe and so easy to make! A great way to use up leftover cabbage. I agree with some others that "creamy" may give the wrong impression, but don't let that throw you off this is still a great dish. I add a little flour before the brown sugar to make the sauce a little thicker, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Tried this because it had basic ingredients that I already had..It was really good and easy! I love that it called for white pepper but because my 4yr old finds it" too spicy " I went light on the pepper and added just a little cumin. Everyone love it, when the kids will eat it it's a keeper-Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was really yummy! I didn't have whole milk so I used 1%. I am pretty sure it probably tasted the same only didn't thicken. Also, I forgot it simmering on the stove and when I came back it was a little curtled(no one said anything to me though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stampspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was really tasty, a little sweet but in a good way that complimented the cabbage and onion. I added garlic pepper seasoning and simmered on low with the lid on for 30 minutes. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States