Cabbage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I made this soup today and it is excellent! I like it much beter than the tomato based soup as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This soup is excellent. The reason for only 4 stars is the addition of salt and pepper. It was bland without seasonings except for the parsley. The blend of veggies with the amount of broth was nearly perfect. It could be thicker, but that may be because one person's head of cabbage may be different from someone else's. For future reference I measured everything after chopping and came up with 12 cups of coarsely chopped cabbage. I don't believe it needs the barley. It seems to be able to stand alone without it. Very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Photo by Laura Sigala Antidormi
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe. Made it with Kalbasa Sausage and rice instead of ham an barley. Also added a little pepper. Hubby is a very picky eater and he loved it. Glad it was a family hit. Def making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
YUM! I'm in heaven. What a perfect rainy day comfort soup. We made this exactlly as written, except we didn't add barley. I think what makes or breaks this could be the type of ham you use. We use country smoked ham with the fat which really brings the flavor out. Processed lean ham will not give this soup the flavor it deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is the best soup I've ever made. I did make one change - I used chicken sausage crumbled up instead of ham, because I'm not a big fan of ham. Otherwise - no changes and it is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My parents and husband LOVED this soup. I did too and I was a skeptic. I had never made cabbage soup before and now everyone wants me to make this. Thank you for making me a "star" to all the people I love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
The flavor and healthfulness were great, but to me it doesn't work to put all the ingredients into the pot at once. The barley needs 1 1/2 hours, but this is way too long to cook the cabbage and carrots. The cabbage turned to mush. As other reviewers have said, this is a great way to use leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We liked it, not loved it. Would prefer more barley if I were to make it again. Didn't add the ham to keep it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Ok: we loved this! I did sauté cabbage with onions in 2-3 TBLS butter. When slightly soft but not fully limp, added broth and remaining ingredients and simmered med-low. Really liked this recipe and a nice "different" recipe for winter soups. Hearty, easy and my family gave me the thumbs up sign. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
i agree with some other reviewers, quite bland. needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States