Cabbage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very different from what I'm used to making. Its very filling and I personnally don't think it needs the added noodles. I only used half a head of cabbage and used a full cup of barley. Threw in in 2 bay leaves while the soup was simmering and used oregeno instead of parsley. I used low sodium chicken broth and still found the soup to be a little too salty. Next time I will use less broth and add a little more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This is absolutely awesome. It was so simple to make and the taste is very original! We served it with garlic french bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This soup was excellent. I was looking for a recipe to use leftover ham and found this. The only modification I made was to add some potatoes. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I used ham soup base and left out the ham and carrots. I also just cut up the cabbage rather than shred it. My soup was a real success with my family. Very good. Deliciousioso!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is a very good recipe. I guess you could say we cut it in half and adapted to our taste. I used 1 lb of chopped smoked sausage that I sauteed with the onions, celery and carrots. Added 3 cans of chicken broth along with 1 can of cream of chicken soup along with approx 2 cups of water. We also added bay leaves and fresh basil along with fresh ground pepper and a bit of salt. This mixture simmered on low heat for about 30 - 45 minutes, stirring every couple of minutes. Added 1/2 large head of shredded cabbage and cooked until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised at how flavorful and hearty this soup was. It had a pleasant sweetness to it, and no bitterness from the cabbage or celery at all. I thought I might have to add spices, but no, the flavors of the ingredients really carry themselves. It tasted even better after a day of rest in the fridge. I'll be using this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steviferg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This cabbage soup was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! My husband and grandson both loved it. My grandson doesn't like cabbage, but he still ate it and even ate most of the cabbage in it. I left out the barley to make it lower carb, and I added an extra clove of garlic and a little Mrs. Dash for more flavor. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is one of the best soups I've ever had, and may even top the Old Fashioned Potato Soup I got off of this place!! For some reason, the local grocery store didn't have barley, so instead of going on a hunt for it, I decided to do without. This is AMAZING!!! I would recommend it to anyone! As a fan of pepper, I added a bit of fresh cracked black pepper, and it seemed to work wonderfully!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was a tasty and healthy soup. Very easy too, just throw everything together and let it simmer away. I added two potatoes, peeled, cut in half, and thinly sliced. They broke up during the long cooking time and helped thicken the soup nicely. This made a HUGE pot of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Especially great with egg noodles in broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States