Cabbage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I used vegetable broth instead of chicken. Substituted 1/2 cup lentils instead of barley (will use barley next time). Cut up the cabbage instead of shredding. Cut down on ham for calorie purposes. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Sooo good. Perfect for a cold and rainy day. I added a can of cannelini beans and topped it with some parmesan cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Great Recipe! Added 1t Salt, 1/2t Pepper, used fresh parsley and small shavings of ham vs cubed. My wife was scrunching her nose as it cooked, but loved every bite! She loved that is was "healthy" too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Losenicky
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
good. i didn't have barley though and i added 2 cubed potatoes to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I may or may not make this again. Both my teenage brother and sister loved it!! But I thought it was too salty and just a soup - nothing spectacular. Plus my hubby doesn't like pork...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
WONDERFUL! I thought this soup was superb. When I told my husband that we were having cabbage soup for dinner, he rolled his eyes. However, after inhaling the first bowl, he says, "Hey, this is REALLY good!" I added some salt and potatoes to mine. It was so good! Thanks for the recipe, I will definately make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Easy! Tasty! Simple! Hearty! Delicious! Great for winter. Did I mention how easy it was? Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I used ham soup base and left out the ham and carrots. I also just cut up the cabbage rather than shred it. My soup was a real success with my family. Very good. Deliciousioso!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I loved it! Thought it would be bland, but it wasn't. I used beef broth and moose burger instead of chicken broth and ham (that's all I had). Very hearty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This has become a family favorite. We could eat this soup every week and not grow tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States