Cabbage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was my first attempt at Cabbage anything. I, too, omitted the barley and instead of broth I used ham hocks with water to cover and added chicken boullion to taste after removing hocks, 2 diced potatoes (towards the end of cooking), salt & fresh ground pepper. The family loved it but asked that I make larger pieces of cabbage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_3_hungry_kids

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Nice tasting soup. Didn't add ham or barely, but added rice towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This soup was awesome. I added an additional clove of garlic and I substituted 4 slices of bacon for the ham. Needed to add a little more salt and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is very, very good. It does make a lot; enough for several people or more. The aroma is wonderful. I substituted a couple of shredded chicken tenderloins in place of the ham. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Excellent. Neighbors tried it and knocked it off. I really liked the barley in it and added some potatoes as someone had suggested. Worked fine in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My husband LOVES ham and cabbage (even though I generally despise them), so when he came home with a 6 lb ham and giant ball of cabbage, I figured this soup would be our best bet. We BOTH loved it. Thanks for the great recipe! Only change - used 5 cups of ham and just 5 cans of broth because it was all I could fit in that pot with everything else. I think I'll stick with those changes from now on too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Simply outstanding. This left my old cabbage soup recipe, which my husband wouldn't eat, in the dust. (He loves this one. He even called it his new favourite soup!) Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This is a WONDERFUL recipe. I cannot rate this high enough. It is a real keeper. It was even better left over. I made it exactly as the recipe said. This is a "must try"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was a great starter recipe, I added some barley, and some carrot and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Made it exactly as is. So very good. Even hubby loved it and he's not a fan of cabbage. The barley totally makes this recipe great, so don't skip it. After we'd all eaten, there wasn't much broth left, so we added more for leftovers the next day. I agree with a previous reviewer that serving it over pasta is unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States