Cabbage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This recipe was easy and delicious! I was looking for something different for leftover ham and came across this recipe. I made it for some girlfriends and we all loved it. I was thinking about adding more barley than was called for and boy am I glad I didn't. It was just right. Thank you for a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very flexible recipe! I used ground beef instead of ham, left out the barley and added some macaroni noodles at the end. Also I used pre-made veggie broth. I did not have to cook it quite as long. Maybe 45 minutes. It would be great in the crockpot too after browning the meat. As other reviewers mentioned the flavors of the garlic and onions really carry the recipe. I was able to add some other left over veggies from the fridge (green beans) and it was great! My hubby took it today for lunch which is always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very tasty and easy to make. It makes a LOT of soup. We are a family of 5 and we all had two bowls and there is still lots left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised at how flavorful and hearty this soup was. It had a pleasant sweetness to it, and no bitterness from the cabbage or celery at all. I thought I might have to add spices, but no, the flavors of the ingredients really carry themselves. It tasted even better after a day of rest in the fridge. I'll be using this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steviferg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Excellent tasting soup. Everyone who tried it wanted seconds. However, next time will not use quick barley. I will use the medium barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBRNINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe! I had never touched a cabbage before, but a couple heads ended up in my CSA box, so I tried this recipe. My boyfriend and I liked it so much, we made another batch 2 days later. It's so easy! We substituted celeriac for celery, but otherwise, we followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Wow Great soup!! I did kick it up a notch by adding cayenne. Please add black pepper. Add other veggies if you have them. I used left over ham from Thanksgiving. Try it you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This soup really surprised me. I cut the recipe in half since it's just me and my husband. I used lower sodium broth as others suggested. I used a salt cured Virginia Ham and that added all the salt that was necessary - I didn't add extra salt while cooking and the soup didn't need any after it was done. That was amazing to me because I thought this soup would lack flavor and seasoning, but it didn't. As long as you get a high quality, high flavor ham, you will get great taste. I also added two medium sized red potatoes for some extra "umph." I only simmered the soup for an hour as I like my veggies to still be a little firm. This is a great soup to put in the books. SO many yummy and good-for-you veggies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Simple easy to make and can freeze the left-overs. I used broth cubes & potatoes instead also used turkey ham because it cuts the salt down...I added more cabbage both chunked and shredded also added garlic...family loved this! We had cornbread with this I will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunydaze

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was fantastic and so easy! I was looking to use up some veggies left in the fridge. I had 4 red potatoes and 1 zucchini that I tossed in. I also through in a can of mushrooms w/ juice because we love mushrooms. Didn't use the parsley but used oregano instead and two bay leaves. The potatoes cooked down and thickened the broth. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mary Esther, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States