Cabbage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
good base recipe but needs some seasoning, I added pepper, bay leaf and home made salt free Cajun seasoning, I used Better Than Boullion Vegetable stock base for the chicken stock, it was what I had, I also added some corn which I had in the fridge, I needed 12 cups of water to cover my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I had a left over ham bone. I simmered broth with ham bone for over an hour before adding anything else. I sauted the veggies with garlic in a little olive oil. Added one cup of barley. Also added cabbage towards the end. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Light, simple, tasty, and EASY. This would be good with a really hardy rye or multigrain bread. If you plan to have as leftovers, pull some out before the cabbage is fully cooked so the cabbage doesn't get mushy when reheated later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
good comfort soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I first made this soup about 3 years ago & really liked it. Had forgotten about it until I had a bumper crop of cabbage this year. Decided to make it again & try canning some. The canning process really enhanced the flavor & it is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Quick easy one pot meal but kinda blah and I'm not sure what I could add to improve it besides salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Great soup. 1 1/2 hours is way too long for cooking it though. It was pretty mushy, although tasty. I used half chicken broth & half water. I will cook for 1 hr next time, adding the cabbage in the last 20-30 minutes for some crunchiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was SO good! Everyone loved it! I love that it was a one pot dish and so easy to make and very healthy as well! I doubled the barley to one cup, used 6 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups of water and added a little salt. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
It was okay I guess. It seemed very rich making us unable to eat much of it. I would add the cabbage at the last 20 minutes because it wilted down to almost nothing. I used rice instead of barley and it turned out okay. Hey, but it is an inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Husband liked it a lot but no one else did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States