Cabbage Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Wonderful flavor. My family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This soup was delicious! The only thing I did differently was omit the beef and left it as just a veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
warning, the house smells pretty terrible while this is cooking! The soup itself turned out okay, but I was the only one in my family willing to eat it. I guess, no matter how it is cooked, cabbage really isn't our thing (despite the fact that we got about 20 of them last year from our CSA!). I'm glad I tried this, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I receive a head of cabbage each month through Angel foods and soup is about the only thing my family will eat so soup it is! This was very good although I did add a large can of tomato juice and also used homemade chicken broth sitting in the freezer instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great soup. We added more vegetables. The soup needed a lot more flavoring. We added a lot (way too much) of salt. Next time we make this, we are going to use chicken stock or vegetable stock. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This turned out really good but I did add a little more to spice it up. I added minced garlic, black pepper, salt & cayenne pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Turned out to have a nice deep flavor. At first it seemed like there wouldn't be enough water for the vegetable ratio but the vegetables shrunk a bit. I didn't know what spices to throw in to really get it flavorful. I added a little garlic and pepper. Next time I might throw in a few pasta noodles. Was very hearty and traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
We forgot the tomato's and it was still wonderful. The second day we added the tomato's and it had a totally different taste. 2 meals in 1. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
When ever I make Ukranian or Russian Cabbage Soup and have no lemon or citric acid, I take a Vitamin C tablet and throw it in. That takes care of the citric acid. Have been using this for years and it really works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
I was looking for a sweet & sour cabbage soup, so I "bumped" this one a little bit: 1/3 c. apple cider vinegar and 1/3 cup sugar in place of the citric acid and the sugar in the recipe gave the soup just the flavor I was looking for. To keep the cabbage a little crisper, don't add it until the last 1/2 hour of the cooking time. This soup is definitely better the 2nd day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmyra, Maine, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States