Cabbage Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Wonderful flavor. My family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This soup was delicious! The only thing I did differently was omit the beef and left it as just a veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
warning, the house smells pretty terrible while this is cooking! The soup itself turned out okay, but I was the only one in my family willing to eat it. I guess, no matter how it is cooked, cabbage really isn't our thing (despite the fact that we got about 20 of them last year from our CSA!). I'm glad I tried this, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I receive a head of cabbage each month through Angel foods and soup is about the only thing my family will eat so soup it is! This was very good although I did add a large can of tomato juice and also used homemade chicken broth sitting in the freezer instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great soup. We added more vegetables. The soup needed a lot more flavoring. We added a lot (way too much) of salt. Next time we make this, we are going to use chicken stock or vegetable stock. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This turned out really good but I did add a little more to spice it up. I added minced garlic, black pepper, salt & cayenne pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Turned out to have a nice deep flavor. At first it seemed like there wouldn't be enough water for the vegetable ratio but the vegetables shrunk a bit. I didn't know what spices to throw in to really get it flavorful. I added a little garlic and pepper. Next time I might throw in a few pasta noodles. Was very hearty and traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
We forgot the tomato's and it was still wonderful. The second day we added the tomato's and it had a totally different taste. 2 meals in 1. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
When ever I make Ukranian or Russian Cabbage Soup and have no lemon or citric acid, I take a Vitamin C tablet and throw it in. That takes care of the citric acid. Have been using this for years and it really works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
I was looking for a sweet & sour cabbage soup, so I "bumped" this one a little bit: 1/3 c. apple cider vinegar and 1/3 cup sugar in place of the citric acid and the sugar in the recipe gave the soup just the flavor I was looking for. To keep the cabbage a little crisper, don't add it until the last 1/2 hour of the cooking time. This soup is definitely better the 2nd day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmyra, Maine, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States