Cabbage Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I found this a great way to prepare cabbage. It is very flavorful if you add a little bouillon base to the liquid. I went a step further and added a small amount of dill, some pepper...and a diced potato to absorb the balance of the liquid. Then I threw a can of corned beef in. It was delicious. My husband and I both had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I left out the carrot and sugar but otherwise followed exactly. We loved this!! A great way to use up extra cabbage. Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was great!!! I have always made cabbage by boiling it with lots of seasonings, but this is how I will always do it for now on. Even my husband liked it a lot. So I will definately keep making this!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
thank you for a wonderful yet simple recipe. everyone raved about the way the carrots and cabbage blended together yet their own taste remained. have had this on our menu twice already and will have it again. Bravo...jarvis thanks to allrecpies for your recepies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Great recipe! I used one bag of shredded cabbage (like you use to make slaw), added 2 cubed chicken breasts while the carrots cooked and served over La Choy chow mein noodles. My family loved it and went back for seconds! We also used a little soy sauce on our individual plates after being served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was really good. I used the prepackaged coleslaw and prepackaged matchstick carrots.It was super simple to prep. I will make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Nothing beats good comfort food. This turned out really great, but I did add a couple of cloves of minced garlic after the carrots and cooked it for a minute before adding the rest of the ingredients, including 2 cooked, cubed chicken breasts. I also used brown sugar, just as a personal preference. I served this with some brown rice for a complete meal that came together pretty quickly. My husband agreed that this was a really healthy but comforting meal. My picky 3 year old liked it, and my 1 year old who is new to table food wanted more and more of the cabbage (after I minced it up). I could see myself craving this regularly. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
this is a perfect recipe. we're south beach and skipped carrots and used just one packet of sweetener instead of sugar. the cooking time is spot on and I like that my youngsters ate it. we ate a ton and didn't feel guilty. the cabbage also accepted the sauce from our entree perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Great! Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
We got a head of cabbage in our CSA box this week and I was looking for a way to use it. The recipes in the cookbooks I had were too "fancy" with specialty ingredients that I didn't have on hand. I was so happy to find this recipe. I had everything I needed in the house already! This is a great staple recipe that is delicious as is, but you can easily tweak the seasonings to your liking. This one is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Jennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States