Cabbage Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I found this a great way to prepare cabbage. It is very flavorful if you add a little bouillon base to the liquid. I went a step further and added a small amount of dill, some pepper...and a diced potato to absorb the balance of the liquid. Then I threw a can of corned beef in. It was delicious. My husband and I both had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was great!!! I have always made cabbage by boiling it with lots of seasonings, but this is how I will always do it for now on. Even my husband liked it a lot. So I will definately keep making this!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was really good. I used the prepackaged coleslaw and prepackaged matchstick carrots.It was super simple to prep. I will make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
this is a perfect recipe. we're south beach and skipped carrots and used just one packet of sweetener instead of sugar. the cooking time is spot on and I like that my youngsters ate it. we ate a ton and didn't feel guilty. the cabbage also accepted the sauce from our entree perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Great recipe! I used one bag of shredded cabbage (like you use to make slaw), added 2 cubed chicken breasts while the carrots cooked and served over La Choy chow mein noodles. My family loved it and went back for seconds! We also used a little soy sauce on our individual plates after being served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe is delicious! However, I tweaked it slightly. I added 3 medium potatoes, diced, and added 2 1/2 cups broth. It is delicious and even better for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary O'Neil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was great! I love cabbage but was so sick of having plain cabbage boiled in water. This has great flavors and made an excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I didn't have carrots on hands so I left them out but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I love the way the cabbage sweetens as it cooks and the garlic is a nice contrast. I served it with spaghetti and my husband said it was a great "peasant" meal. Often simple is best, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Excellent quick dish, although I didn't add the sugar only because I wanted it to be a healthy meal all around, I will be making this dish for Thanksgiving yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikayy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Not bad, but a little bland. The butter and the carrots did add a touch of sweetness, but not enough to make it impressive. I'd probably try it again, albeit with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAINTARTAUD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States