Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I've made this twice now, the second time with some tweaks - apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp of sugar, fresh tarragon, and a heck of a lot less garlic salt. I love garlic, but the recipe as written is extreme in my opinion. Nevertheless, this will be a regular for us with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Great salad, but I'll try sweeter vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Tried it and loved it! Great reviews from my lunch guests. Fish and chips and a side of slaw, doesn't get any better. Used a clove of fresh garlic instead of garlic salt and celery seeds instead of tarragon. You work with what you've got! Thanks a bunch for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Port Hope, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Just what I was looking for! My family doesn't like mayo-based slaws. I had been using a packet of dry salad dressing mix with oil/vinegar, but don't like the amount of sodium in those packets. This lets me control the amount of salt. I added some celery seed. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
My husband and I love this. Easy, light, a nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I am not a fan of cabbage at all, but this, I ate it all up, probably for 3 days since I was basically eating it alone. Never got sick of it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Delicious! The perfect accompaniment to our corned beef. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I subsituted with a can of diced tomatoes instead. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Awesome!! I too used celery seeds instead of tarragon. What a great change from a mayo based cole slaw. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is just like the coleslaw we get in the Bar B Q chicken places we have in Montreal. Now that I am living oversesas, it is a real treat to have something taste like home! I did not change a thing, and yes it does get getter with time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
What a nice change from the traditional mayo based slaw! This is really good as a topping for sandwiches. It tastes a thousand times better the next day. I added some celery seed and a little extra sugar. I might not use garlic SALT next time, and just use garlic powder and salt to taste. It was just a little too salty for me, but I'm not hugely into salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States