Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. I think it was a lot more work than necessary. In the end i feel that they are very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
first off NEVER microwave a head of cabbage! Put some water in a large pot and steam the head while taking the steamed leaves off the head one buy one as they soften. Dill? Not too sure where this idea came from. Cook or uncooked rice is fine in a recipe but both?(I just find this one odd). And then the last never to do is the can(s) of tomato soup. This is how recipies that get handed down from generations get washed out. Someone decides to take a recipe and change the heck out of it. Canned soup, dill, microwaves. I will be writing my own handed down recipe for cabbage rolls and I really want positive/negitive reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubbertoy74

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is my 2nd time and 2nd recipe for making cabbage rolls. I didn't follow the recipe exactly; I used ground turkey, regular cabbage and cooked everything before I make rolls. Also, I only baked for 1 hour since the stuffing is already cooked. It's tasty!! I recommend this recipe to all of my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Excellent tasting but to even enhance it more top with sauerkraut and bake in oven I have made it that way for years and it is indeed the best and thinking of it makes ones mouth water!! Gonna make em tomorrow :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made these and they were a big hit!! Did these with my mother in law and she was impressed at how easy the cabbage was to use when microwaved!! They were picture perfect and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Made the sauce out of the romas I picked from the garden that day. Pureed them with a bit of chicken stock and a few dashes of Magi. Roommate asked if I could please make this every Thursday. Tasted just like my ex Polish Mother-In-Law made (and she taught me!) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very time consuming recipe .. Cabbage rolls without sauerkraut ?? I used Minute Rice with my ground beef mixture (no need to cook beforehand). Once the meat mixture is combined with your choice of spices in a large bowl, I placed the sauerkraut on bottom of pot, layered Hunt's tomoto sauce, then the stuffed cabbage rolls. Finished off with another layer of the sauerkraut and sauce. Very simple and delicious. Recipie has been in family for over 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Loved this! I used hot italian sausage instead of pork sausage, and it had an amazing flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
4 stars because of tomato soup ingredient and over complicated directions. Yes, I know..I should submit my own recipe due to following: I didn't use savoy, just reg cabbage. I scaled this down for 4. Used 8 outer leaves (boiled still softened). For filling I used 3/4lb grnd pork only. I par-boiled 1/2C (rinsed) rice in chicken stock as I didn't want it completely cooked. I drained off rice (kept remaining liquid for sauce) and mixed into pork with minced (raw) onion, red bell pepper, S&P, Caribbean jerk season, dried thyme/parsely, fresh minced garlic/ginger & tblsp of tomato paste. I rolled 1/4C into each leaf. Placed in glass baking pan (sprayed w/non-stick). For sauce I used 1 small can of tomato sauce, the remaing stock from cooking rice and 1/4C tomato paste. Added 1Tblsp each of brn sugar, worchester, lemon juice. Also 1/4C juice from canned pineapple along with some of same seasonings in pork filling. Poured sauce on top of rolls, covered tightly with foil and baked at 300 for 2.5 hrs & uncovered for add't 30 mins @ 350. OMG...freaking GREAT! I did the filling and sauce night before so it wasn't a big deal to assemble the next day. The entire dish could be made ahead and easily adjusted for your own flavor profile. This need not be so dang complicated as written, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was my first time making Cabbage Rolls and settled for this recipe. The only thing that I have done differently is I used fresh dill instead of dry. My partner went in for thirds. As for myself, I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States