Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Merry Christmas! We made these cabbage rolls during Christmas Eve 2012. This recipe will be a family tradition in our home every Christmas Eve. I was hoping to find a recipe as good as my grandmother's. This one is better. 100% Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eh Noel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
The cabbage roll them selfs are great. Next time around I will be leavening out the can of whole peeled tomatoes it made the sauce taste gross and smell funny. Luckily I had tongs and was able to shake the rolls off so none of the tomatoe juice/ sauce really interferd with the roll itself, regular ketchup tasted a million times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I'm wondering if it is possible to make this recipe WITHOUT the rice. Thought?? I may try it anyway and just omit the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe but I didn't follow it exactly due to an error on my part. When I microwaved the cabbage, I overcooked it. So I chopped up the cabbage and mixed that and the tomato mixture in the rice mixture. I omitted the bay leaves. I baked it in 2 9x13 casserole dishes according to instructions. My family (who doesn't like cabbage) ate it up! This new "cabbage roll casserole" as I call it is a winner. It does need a crunch so I'm thinking a bread crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
These were A+. Turned out great. Loved the tomato soup sauce. The secret is in the sauce. Don't skimp on the savoy cabbage; so much easier to use for cabbage rolls & get big ones. I got a small and fixed half the recipe and wished I would have gotten a big one. Fixed mine with rice on the side. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was my first time making cabbage rolls. Very time consuming but well worth the effort! Here's what I did different: used 1lb ground pork, used a little more garlic, omitted dill weed and sugar, and used progresso tomato basil soup instead of condensed. I went ahead and pre-cooked everything for the filling. I didn't want the grease from the meat in my finished product. This also cut my cook time down to an hour. I ended up with one 9x13 and one 8x8 pan because my cabbages were small. The leftover filling reheated well for lunch the next day and my husband said the rolls themselves were also good reheated. (I think the filling would also work great for stuffed peppers.) We loved this dish and I definitely plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Not a bad recipe. Yes they freeze well. If you would like to add variety to the rolls try adding bacon also try V8 yes the juice as liquids. More nutitional values for your bucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jnoz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These were very tasty! I have never made cabbage rolls before and these turned out delicious. The only thing I did different was I added celery and a touch more pepper to the mixture. Made these 3 times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I love this recipe. Best ever.. Make the whole order and plenty left to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Canned tomato soup pureed with tomatoes doesn't give much flavor to these cabbage rolls. Needs ketchup, garlic, onion & other spices to have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States