Cabbage Rolls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Excellent! Making again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I have tried this recipe, but cooked in V8 like a review said. Also added a few garlics. Oh, I substituted the regular cabbage for sour head cabbage. You can find it in the supermarket. It is wrapped. I also took the sauerkraut and added accordingly to the beef mixture. Just a hint of it. It turned out pretty good! I will make it again...and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Reading all the reviews before trying this for an annual Oktoberfest party, I modified the recipe and added 1 heaping T minced garlic, 1 T horseradish, and 2 tsp Hungarian paprika to the meat mixture. I also cooked the rice almost through using beef broth and let cool before adding to meat mixture, and used 1 c tomato sauce instead of water in the meat mixture. I used a large covered casserole dish to make this, layering sauerkraut, then the cabbage rolls, then sauerkraut, and then poured enough spicy V-8 juice over the top of the rolls until almost covered. I then covered the dish and baked at 300 deg for 4 hours. Absolutely fantastic (very flavorful!) and lots of compliments at the party! Will definitely make again! NOTE: I didn't trust myself not tearing many of the leaves, so I used 2 heads of cabbage , cut out the core and boiled the heads. Leaves separated nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zindoc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I used the ingredients as stated but added a jalapeno and a jar of picante sauce and did what a couple of people suggested...put the sauerkraut in the bottom of a crock pot....added the cabbage rolls...had extra meat sauce left over so I added it to the top as well as a little more picante sauce...cooked on high two hours and then low 6 hours....Enough for an army!!! Easy to freeze for yummy leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evonnecpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This recipe is just too plain needs some flavor tastes like boiled ground beef I use half pork sausage and half ground beef I semi- drain but never rinse my kraut or else it will be tasteless also, needs a little lemon juice maybe up to a Tablespoon brown or white sugar a teaspoon garlic powder or 2 cloves minced garlic a couple of bay leaves can also add 1/2-1 teaspoon thyme a couple of chicken bouillon cubes added to the water or a can of chicken broth instead of water many times I add a can of diced tomatoes on top along with sprinkling of salt & pepper COOK with passion COOK with love needs effort put into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I have never made these before, and this recipe is simple and is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
really good flavors i used ground pork .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe, very easy to make, easy clean up, and very good. I misread the recipe and thought it called for 1/4 inch chops. Mine had to be at least 1-1/2 inch, so I made triple the gravy. When I realized what I did, it was too late. Read the recipe... believe me, you won't need triple the gravy (lol). Very good, and thanks for sharing. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Love the saukraut in this recipe! Used rice that was almost cooked and topped it off with a Italian sausage, onion and green pepper, tomato pasta sauce. Also used homemade vegetable broth instead of water and savoy cabbage instead of regular cabbage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Great recipe. I included a packet of dry Onion Soup mix into the meat mixture, DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States