Cabbage Rolls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This recipe is just too plain needs some flavor tastes like boiled ground beef I use half pork sausage and half ground beef I semi- drain but never rinse my kraut or else it will be tasteless also, needs a little lemon juice maybe up to a Tablespoon brown or white sugar a teaspoon garlic powder or 2 cloves minced garlic a couple of bay leaves can also add 1/2-1 teaspoon thyme a couple of chicken bouillon cubes added to the water or a can of chicken broth instead of water many times I add a can of diced tomatoes on top along with sprinkling of salt & pepper COOK with passion COOK with love needs effort put into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I have never made these before, and this recipe is simple and is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
really good flavors i used ground pork .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe, very easy to make, easy clean up, and very good. I misread the recipe and thought it called for 1/4 inch chops. Mine had to be at least 1-1/2 inch, so I made triple the gravy. When I realized what I did, it was too late. Read the recipe... believe me, you won't need triple the gravy (lol). Very good, and thanks for sharing. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Love the saukraut in this recipe! Used rice that was almost cooked and topped it off with a Italian sausage, onion and green pepper, tomato pasta sauce. Also used homemade vegetable broth instead of water and savoy cabbage instead of regular cabbage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Great recipe. I included a packet of dry Onion Soup mix into the meat mixture, DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Really great basic cabbage roll recipe! I think The filling could use a bit of tweaking & flavour-enhancement, but otherwise it was a really fabulous recipe for my first attempt at cabbage rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPINK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were so good! As other reviewers suggested, I used beef broth instead of water for both the mix and to almost cover the rolls with. This added tons of flavour. I loved the density of the filling with all the meat. It's important to use the sausage or ground pork as well as the beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
We and company liked this dish, just really preferred my other recipe, had high hopes for the sauerkraut as we all like it....just didn't come together for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I have tried several cabbage roll recipes – all using tomato sauce, and we have never been quite impressed, which is odd as we all like all the ingredients. So this recipe was our last try at the cabbage rolls and it was a hit! My husband and my 5 & 6 year old boys ate them up; they were also enjoyed the next day for lunch. We have made these twice now and are making them tonight. (Edit) after making this again, I followed the recipe as stated, not so good, we threw them out. I realized too late, I went through most of the reviews the first time before making. Going forward I will (as I did the first few times according to my notes) par cook the rice and season the beef with garlic and Hungarian paprika. Then will cook in a casserole dish with beef broth (NOT water) at 325 for 3+ hours, or cook them in the Crock pot with less broth or just the juice from the sauerkraut if there is enough, on low for 6 hours. Made this way I would give 5 stars, but after following the recipe exactly I am knocking it down to 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States