Cabbage Rolls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These are the cabbage rolls I grew up eating. Grandma always used ground beef and ground pork, she also added some chopped garlic and a spoonful of Hungarian paprika and didn't bother with the toothpicks. I don't know why everyone wants to add tomato sauce to them. Cabbage rolls cooked in tomato sauce are good but try them with just the sour kraut. I cook them in the crock pot (grandma would have loved that)or bake them in the oven at 325 for about 2 hours. They also freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by V. Low
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was really good, family enjoyed it. However, I did add garlic and paprika to the stuffing and also added tomato sauce to the liquid when boiling the rolls. I also pre-boiled the rice in chicken stock just in case that did not cook like another reviewer indicated. Overall, delicious - have left overs which will be frozen for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
these all sound ok, but i've been making cabbage rolls over 40 years and all my hungarian and polish friends use 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork and uncooked rice and garlic. i now make cabbage roll casserole (layer cabbage in bottom of roaster then meat and rice mixture and layer cabbage on top,cover with tomato topping or sauerkraut and bake 3 or 4 hour adding more liquid as needed. much easier and faster. served this to an oriental lady (she never had this before and loved it) and two seniors in their nineties (they came back for seconds). it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nobleton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Excellent! Making again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I have tried this recipe, but cooked in V8 like a review said. Also added a few garlics. Oh, I substituted the regular cabbage for sour head cabbage. You can find it in the supermarket. It is wrapped. I also took the sauerkraut and added accordingly to the beef mixture. Just a hint of it. It turned out pretty good! I will make it again...and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Reading all the reviews before trying this for an annual Oktoberfest party, I modified the recipe and added 1 heaping T minced garlic, 1 T horseradish, and 2 tsp Hungarian paprika to the meat mixture. I also cooked the rice almost through using beef broth and let cool before adding to meat mixture, and used 1 c tomato sauce instead of water in the meat mixture. I used a large covered casserole dish to make this, layering sauerkraut, then the cabbage rolls, then sauerkraut, and then poured enough spicy V-8 juice over the top of the rolls until almost covered. I then covered the dish and baked at 300 deg for 4 hours. Absolutely fantastic (very flavorful!) and lots of compliments at the party! Will definitely make again! NOTE: I didn't trust myself not tearing many of the leaves, so I used 2 heads of cabbage , cut out the core and boiled the heads. Leaves separated nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zindoc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I used the ingredients as stated but added a jalapeno and a jar of picante sauce and did what a couple of people suggested...put the sauerkraut in the bottom of a crock pot....added the cabbage rolls...had extra meat sauce left over so I added it to the top as well as a little more picante sauce...cooked on high two hours and then low 6 hours....Enough for an army!!! Easy to freeze for yummy leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evonnecpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This recipe is just too plain needs some flavor tastes like boiled ground beef I use half pork sausage and half ground beef I semi- drain but never rinse my kraut or else it will be tasteless also, needs a little lemon juice maybe up to a Tablespoon brown or white sugar a teaspoon garlic powder or 2 cloves minced garlic a couple of bay leaves can also add 1/2-1 teaspoon thyme a couple of chicken bouillon cubes added to the water or a can of chicken broth instead of water many times I add a can of diced tomatoes on top along with sprinkling of salt & pepper COOK with passion COOK with love needs effort put into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I have never made these before, and this recipe is simple and is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
really good flavors i used ground pork .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States