Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I would have given this recipe 5 stars but for a couple of things. (1) the meat mixture is pretty bland so next time I will add something other than salt and pepper and (2) I changed the sauce and used tomato soup but still added lemon juice; none of the other sauce ingredients and it still was not enough. I read several reviews and followed the advice of boiling the whole head of cabbage first. This worked out very well. I also cut out the hard center of each leaf and this made for a perfectly folded "pouch". This is a great basic recipe that screams for your special touch and tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
WAY more tasty than I even thought they would be!! They sounded so good and so easy, so I went ahead and made them tonight, even though I had something completely different in mind for my ground beef and Italian sausage. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of the addition of a half pound of sausage to the mixture and doubled the sauce. I also added some diced tomatoes and the rest of the cabbage, chopped up, to the sauce. Would be delicious with or without the additions. This recipe is a keeper, for sure! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is the 2nd cabbage roll recipe I've tried in a month & I am never cooking cabbage rolls again. Both of them got 1 star, but the other recipe did have a much better flavor than this one, more tomato sauce was added. Both of them I couldn't eat, neither one cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Wow! I used this basically as a base recipe with just a few small moderations. Nothing that would have changed it much though. The only thing I changed was the sauce. Oh and baked for 1 hr 45 mins @ 375 cause I was in a rush for dinner. First time I have ever had cabbage rolls and have a very picky husband! This was delish!!! So good that I'm making them 2 days in a row and doubled the recipe! Sooo glad I got curious about trying these!! This is going to be a frequent meal for us!! Thanx so much!! Would give it more than 5 if I could!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
These were delicious, though I was outvoted by the family to omit the tomato sauce. I'll get my way next time, as they were a bit dry without it. I must admit I added a half pound of ground pork to the already perfect mixture, only because that's how my father made them for years. This is a classic cabbage roll recipe that you can't go wrong on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I looooove my moms cabbage rolls she always made it for me so when I moved away I really really missed it. I decided to try this recipe and I'm glad I did! It tastes just like my moms sarma. It does need a bit of help though. I used kisili kupus. (Sour cabbage) it's important to cut off the spine of each leaf. I used half extra lean ground beef and ground pork like my mom did. I put a small can of tomato sauce right in the mixture and a bit more onions and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I didn't use that much black pepper either. Mixed it with my hand and I rolled em up and put them in the slow cooker. I put a bunch of water in there too enough to submerge the rolls. I cooked on high for 4 1/2 hours and half way through I made zaprska in a pan (heated some oil and fried some flour for a minute then put paprika in it) added that then added a tall can of hunts tomato sauce. But i had to put more water in cuz it soaked up almost all the water! It definitely needs this help. Otherwise it would get 5 stars but tastes so good this way with mashed potatoes. I made quite a bit like 18 I think. I got a small head of sour cabbage. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These were awesome. I doubled the recipe, and made it as is. I think I'll add a little something next time...maybe minced radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! Exactly what I was looking for. I made the recipe exactly as-is with 80% lean ground beef and it turned out fabulous. Next time I will try doubling the sauce but this recipe is great. We had to fight over leftovers! XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I used A-1 instead of Worcestershire, brown rice, and spaghetti sauce, since that is what I had on hand. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I found the meat mixture with the cabbage tasty but the rice turned out too mushy.. thinking that cooked rice gets overcooked with 9 hrs in a crockpot.. wondering if I should have used raw rice? Suggest serving with plain yogurt as a topping instead of sour cream. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States