Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
These were just like I remember my mom fixing as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have tried this recipe exactly as written as well as tired it with a few of the modifications that were suggested by other reviewers and I just can't bring myself to like it as much as other cabbage roll recipes that I've tried; sorry. I think it may be the lemon juice in the sauce, there was an odd tang that I did not enjoy. Great cheap and easy meal idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was very good. As others suggested I did double the sauce and I agree it would have been rather dry had I not. The only other changes I made were to use ground turkey instead of beef and to add some garlic powder to the meat mix. Served with mash potatoes. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
loved it! we didn't change one thing about this and it was amazing. so many leftovers and did well throughout the week as lunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manda929

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Made this for the whole fam last night. Followed recipe except for a couple of tweaks. Used ground venison since that is what we had and took other's advice to cut back on black pepper, but added 1 small can Rotel's new sauce to sauce recipe. Baked in the oven and turned out delish! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was my first time ever making cabbage rolls. I used this as a base recipe. I doubled the recipe and used half ground venison, half ground beef. I added extra onions, 4 chopped cloves of garlic, and ground thyme to the meat. I had to exempt the egg because I did not realize I was out until I went to add it to the mix. Worked fine without the egg. I used half tomato sauce, half marinara sauce and tripled the sauce. Next time, I will make more rice to have as a side. I will also put a thick layer of chopped cabbage leaves down before laying the rolls down. I boiled the cabbage head and took off the leafs one at a time. I also made my rolls a little thick. Next time I will use half the meat in them so I get more cabbage to meat. Great base recipe. I also cooked this in the oven. 350 for 1.5 hrs tightly covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S. Dice
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My grandma used to make cabbage rolls for me, and they were my favorite! Now she's gone, and I have been wanting to try making them myself. This recipe was almost exactly what I was craving! The only changes I made were to include beef soup base when cooking the rice, and I doubled the sauce. It was delicious as is, but the next time I make it, I might add a little bit of the sauce to the beef mix before rolling it up. Fantastic recipe, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
very good! took some of the other's suggestions and doubled the onions, doubled the sauce and added a pinch of garlic powder to the meat mixture. Hubster ate almost the entire pot and my 2yr old had 2 :D next time will add a layer of sour kraut and maybe even triple the sauce. doubling or tripling the sauce is a MUST!! UPDATE: adding sauerkraut on top of the other additions I mentioned knocks these out of the park! YUM this is a recipe I can't wait to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was really good. Thank you Saltair4 for the tip about freezing the cabbage. I wish I had known this years ago. We might have had stuffed cabbage more often. It worked great. I did use more sauce. Instead of canned tomato sauce, I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and it could still have used more sauce. But it worked great in the slow cooker. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The sauce really makes this dish...although I used a 29 oz. can and multiplied the lemon juice, brown sugar and worcestershire sauce by 3-1/2. Also, the cabbage leaves need to be boiled much longer, more like 5 minutes. Mine were too hard to handle when rolling, and were tough when the dish was finished. I baked it at 350 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 808) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States