Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe was delicious.My vegetarian daughter was visiting so reluctantly I used those non meat crumbles.It was a fun recipe.. peeling and stuffing the cabbage.I added a bit extra sauce to the recipe and the stuffing mixture.My daughter never had stuffed cabbage and informed me she didn't think she'd like it.Just the opposite she went back for seconds!My thanks to the contributor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These were good but I did triple the amount of sauce as recommended by another reviewer. The saucier a dish is, the better I always say. I usually tend to taste the metallic flavor from canned tomatoes, so next time I'll use sauce from a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I guess cabbage rolls are an acquired taste. My kids have not yet acquired this particular taste! But, my husband and I like them! My cabbage leaves were a bit tough. That's most likely my error and no fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very good on the first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Delicious! Just like my Grandma makes :) I used ground Turkey instead, and A1 instead of Worcestershire, I also added Sauerkraut to the bottom of the slow cooker. Next day's left overs were just as good! Will definitely make more next time to have bunches of left overs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I had high expectations of this recipe, but it was only good, not great. The proportions of the sauce, meat filling and cabbage leaves seemed perfect to me, which is pretty impressive. But I just felt that the filling made the dish taste like meat loaf wrapped in cabbage leaves. It really needed something to spice it up. If you make this, I would suggest looking at other comments for suggestions. Maybe a ton of garlic? Chopped celery? Fresh dill? I'm at a loss, but it definitely needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
use tips from vjgunkel59 reviews wow just awesome .. had these as a kid durning the summer picking garden time and using up cabbage we didn't turn into sourkraut loved them then and more after finding this recipe and reading the reviews and found a better recipe now it's in my box won't loose this one it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Amazing! I loooved it. The leftovers reheated seemed even better day 2.. I will definately make this again. I think it would even be great to prepare and freeze for future quick meals. Crock pot worked great, no burning, everything was cooked evenly. Amazing meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These cabbage rolls were so fantastic! What made them best for me, after years of searching off & on for a great cabbage roll recipe, was that 1) the instruction to boil the leaves to make them easier to roll = excellent! and 2) the sauce. I tripled the sauce. Absolutely love the sauce. It was right on with the sweet and sour flavor. If you triple the sauce, you'll have enough for the cabbage rolls and noodles or rice on the side. It looks like a lot, but it gets eaten! The only thing I did different, was to bake the rolls at 350 for an hour, like other reviewers mentioned, and I added some garlic powder to the meat mix. Didn't hardly change this at all - IT DOESN'T NEED IT. Gorgeous, flavorful, heirloom recipe... omg, all I can say. Keeping this for a lifetime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
filling but could use more seasonings and I'm thinking mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilley75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pequot Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States