Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was goooooooooood!!! to me and my folks. Now I made them according to the recipe and now i know how to make it so it will be a craving for my family. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
As other advised I added garlic powder and mustard powder and cooked in the oven for an hour. These are delicous and great leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe was great. I did take the advice of some others that commented here, and I tripled the sauce. My cabbage leaves were huge, so it didn't make 12, but it did make 6 large rolls, and that was plenty for us. I added the 1/8 teaspoon of garlic powder, added more onion, cut the pepper in half, and I chopped the remaining cabbage up and put it in the bottom since the BF loves cabbage. Also, instead of boiling the cabbage (I was afraid that would make the leaves too soggy)I followed the advice given here and just put it in the microwave for 4 minutes and the leaves were super easy to peel off, and didn't get soggy at all after being in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
There wasn't enough sauce. Too much lemon in the sauce. Too much pepper in the hamburger. I am going to try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I would have given this recipe 5 stars but for a couple of things. (1) the meat mixture is pretty bland so next time I will add something other than salt and pepper and (2) I changed the sauce and used tomato soup but still added lemon juice; none of the other sauce ingredients and it still was not enough. I read several reviews and followed the advice of boiling the whole head of cabbage first. This worked out very well. I also cut out the hard center of each leaf and this made for a perfectly folded "pouch". This is a great basic recipe that screams for your special touch and tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
WAY more tasty than I even thought they would be!! They sounded so good and so easy, so I went ahead and made them tonight, even though I had something completely different in mind for my ground beef and Italian sausage. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of the addition of a half pound of sausage to the mixture and doubled the sauce. I also added some diced tomatoes and the rest of the cabbage, chopped up, to the sauce. Would be delicious with or without the additions. This recipe is a keeper, for sure! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is the 2nd cabbage roll recipe I've tried in a month & I am never cooking cabbage rolls again. Both of them got 1 star, but the other recipe did have a much better flavor than this one, more tomato sauce was added. Both of them I couldn't eat, neither one cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Wow! I used this basically as a base recipe with just a few small moderations. Nothing that would have changed it much though. The only thing I changed was the sauce. Oh and baked for 1 hr 45 mins @ 375 cause I was in a rush for dinner. First time I have ever had cabbage rolls and have a very picky husband! This was delish!!! So good that I'm making them 2 days in a row and doubled the recipe! Sooo glad I got curious about trying these!! This is going to be a frequent meal for us!! Thanx so much!! Would give it more than 5 if I could!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
These were delicious, though I was outvoted by the family to omit the tomato sauce. I'll get my way next time, as they were a bit dry without it. I must admit I added a half pound of ground pork to the already perfect mixture, only because that's how my father made them for years. This is a classic cabbage roll recipe that you can't go wrong on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I looooove my moms cabbage rolls she always made it for me so when I moved away I really really missed it. I decided to try this recipe and I'm glad I did! It tastes just like my moms sarma. It does need a bit of help though. I used kisili kupus. (Sour cabbage) it's important to cut off the spine of each leaf. I used half extra lean ground beef and ground pork like my mom did. I put a small can of tomato sauce right in the mixture and a bit more onions and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I didn't use that much black pepper either. Mixed it with my hand and I rolled em up and put them in the slow cooker. I put a bunch of water in there too enough to submerge the rolls. I cooked on high for 4 1/2 hours and half way through I made zaprska in a pan (heated some oil and fried some flour for a minute then put paprika in it) added that then added a tall can of hunts tomato sauce. But i had to put more water in cuz it soaked up almost all the water! It definitely needs this help. Otherwise it would get 5 stars but tastes so good this way with mashed potatoes. I made quite a bit like 18 I think. I got a small head of sour cabbage. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States