Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Wow! I used this basically as a base recipe with just a few small moderations. Nothing that would have changed it much though. The only thing I changed was the sauce. Oh and baked for 1 hr 45 mins @ 375 cause I was in a rush for dinner. First time I have ever had cabbage rolls and have a very picky husband! This was delish!!! So good that I'm making them 2 days in a row and doubled the recipe! Sooo glad I got curious about trying these!! This is going to be a frequent meal for us!! Thanx so much!! Would give it more than 5 if I could!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
These were delicious, though I was outvoted by the family to omit the tomato sauce. I'll get my way next time, as they were a bit dry without it. I must admit I added a half pound of ground pork to the already perfect mixture, only because that's how my father made them for years. This is a classic cabbage roll recipe that you can't go wrong on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I looooove my moms cabbage rolls she always made it for me so when I moved away I really really missed it. I decided to try this recipe and I'm glad I did! It tastes just like my moms sarma. It does need a bit of help though. I used kisili kupus. (Sour cabbage) it's important to cut off the spine of each leaf. I used half extra lean ground beef and ground pork like my mom did. I put a small can of tomato sauce right in the mixture and a bit more onions and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I didn't use that much black pepper either. Mixed it with my hand and I rolled em up and put them in the slow cooker. I put a bunch of water in there too enough to submerge the rolls. I cooked on high for 4 1/2 hours and half way through I made zaprska in a pan (heated some oil and fried some flour for a minute then put paprika in it) added that then added a tall can of hunts tomato sauce. But i had to put more water in cuz it soaked up almost all the water! It definitely needs this help. Otherwise it would get 5 stars but tastes so good this way with mashed potatoes. I made quite a bit like 18 I think. I got a small head of sour cabbage. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These were awesome. I doubled the recipe, and made it as is. I think I'll add a little something next time...maybe minced radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! Exactly what I was looking for. I made the recipe exactly as-is with 80% lean ground beef and it turned out fabulous. Next time I will try doubling the sauce but this recipe is great. We had to fight over leftovers! XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I used A-1 instead of Worcestershire, brown rice, and spaghetti sauce, since that is what I had on hand. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I found the meat mixture with the cabbage tasty but the rice turned out too mushy.. thinking that cooked rice gets overcooked with 9 hrs in a crockpot.. wondering if I should have used raw rice? Suggest serving with plain yogurt as a topping instead of sour cream. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Wanting to try this for awhile now, it left my family underwhelmed. I was let down by the sauce, and that's the main reason I wanted to try this recipe! I doubled it per popular suggestion and still found myself doctoring it up with more brown sugar and worcestershire, as well as onion/garlic powders. I used a can of Campbell's Tomato Bisque soup for the base and laid all 12 rolls over that in a 9x13 baking dish. Used savoy cabbage without any issues, used the 90-second rice in a bag, cooled. Used 1/2 lean hamburger and 1/2 Italian sausage, well-seasoned, and only 1/8 cup milk. Baked covered tightly with foil at 350 for 1 hour 15 minutes. This dish has so much potential, so I'll definitely do this over with some major tweaking. I appreciate the basic idea of this dish and will use it as a springboard to cater to my family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe was ok but a little bland and maybe a little too sweet. I took other reviewers' advice and doubled the sauce. I added a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes to the 8 oz can of tomato sauce and mashed the diced tomatoes up a little bit, and then added the lemon juice, brown sugar, and Worchestershire sauce. I added 2 cloves of garlic to the meat mixture and I used ground turkey instead of beef. I baked it at 350 degrees for 1 hour instead of making it in the slow cooker as one other reviewer recommended because I was pressed for time. We do like cabbage rolls so I will try this again, but next time I will add more spices and less brown sugar. I will make it in the slow cooker too, to give the flavors more time to blend. This recipe has potential but in my family's opinion it needs just more of a spicy flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
It's okay but could be much better. I not only doubled the sauce but added a 14oz can of diced tomatoes. i love black pepper but There is too much black pepper, it drowns out the other flavors. I would recommend using less black pepper and added additional onions and some minced garlic in he meat mixture. Also could use a little more rice as well. I used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States