Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Very much like the Stuffed Cabbage offered by the local Eastern Orthodox church every fall. Much easier to make than I thought it would be. Thank you, BJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I loved them; Just perfect. My guests loved them . Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Helpful hints: I boil salted water in a large pot, core the cabbage and drop it in the boiling water. As the outside leaves soften I peel them off with tongs and set them aside to drain and cool. Then I sort them into stacks of small, medium and large leaves. I start with the large leaves and stuff and roll them, then stuff and roll the medium leaves and layer them on top of the larger rolls and if the small leaves are too small to stuff, just layer them on top of the rolls in the crock pot. I pour quite a bit of tomato JUICE (not V8) over the rolls to cover them, and if you like lemon you can squeeze lemon on top of that! Thanks for posting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This recipe is great but I quadrupled the sauce part as other review suggested. It was amazing. I have made it half a dozen times already. I am the only one that eats it. It lasts me all week. I eat this by itself and it is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I made these this past weekend and thought they were great. I made a couple of substitutions based on what I had on hand. First, I used a rice mix of brown, long grain and wild rice instead of white. Also, I had some shallots to use up and added 1/4 to 1/3 cup of those plus two cloves of finely chopped garlic to the beef. Taking the recommendation of others, I also doubled the sauce but added about a teaspoon of steak sauce to it for a little extra zing. These were very good! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Based on the comments, this recipe has circulating for over 10 years! A lot of people have used this recipe and it is consistently a winner. I will continue to follow a few suggestions (increase sauce amount and freeze cabbage head). I am also going to try using ground lamb, feta cheese and a bit of curry powder (3 flavors that I love) on my next go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dabeau1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Family loved this recipe. Will definitely make for years to come. Just microwave the cabbage and the leaves will peel easily. Definitely double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Great idea. I did these in the crockpot and it worked out great. I did put the cabbage in the freezer as suggested by another reviewer and avoided boiling the cabbage. IT WORKED LIKE A CHARM. THANK YOU FOR THAT SUPER TIP!!! I will never boil cabbage again for cabbage rolls. I also reduced the pepper to 3/4 tsp as suggested by another reviewer. I kept this sauce as is but my Mom would use tomato soup and I like it better but kept this one as some people may like a tangier version. If cooking in oven, I would double the sauce, if using the crockpot the crockpot generates enough water so I found the measurements listed from BJ sufficient. I used 93% hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I'm sorry to say that the flavours in the recipe were just way too basic and didn't satisfy my craving for a good cabbage roll dinner. The sauce was too sweet and the whole dish was way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These were delicious! Like others I also wanted more sauce so I used a 14 oz. can of tomato sauce and also added a can of "diced tomatoes in sauce" (I love tomatoes and will use any excuse to sneak them into a recipe if I can.) They were pretty soupy which is OK by me but may be too much for others. I think next time I will keep the diced tomatoes but only use the 8 oz. can of sauce as in the recipe. Notice I said "next time" ... I will definitely be making these again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States