Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The sauce really makes this dish...although I used a 29 oz. can and multiplied the lemon juice, brown sugar and worcestershire sauce by 3-1/2. Also, the cabbage leaves need to be boiled much longer, more like 5 minutes. Mine were too hard to handle when rolling, and were tough when the dish was finished. I baked it at 350 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made these with ground turkey & it was really tasty & healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Alvarez Lanza
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Yes and Yes! Double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Yum! I'm a HUGE fan of "piggies" so I knew I'd like these. My hubs isn't, but he's basing his opinion on a (distant) childhood memory. No surprise, my hubs wasn't a fan. :( And while I was, I wasn't a fan of the texture. There's just something about slow cooking ground beef that I don't like (I have the SAME problem with sc meatballs). I liked everything else about these, so next time, I'll change the cooking method (maybe on the stovetop) and hope for the best. NOTE #1: Everyone has a different opinion about what to do with their cabbage. Some freeze the entire head, then thaw it (the idea is that the leaves will soften as they thaw). Others suggest simmering whole and some remove the leaves FIRST, then simmer for a minute or so (until softened). I am a traditionalist at heart. I cut the bottom off my head of cabbage (just enough for it to lie flat) and simmered until the leaves fell off, one by one. I wanted to freeze mine, but I've heard this produces rubbery rolls. Furthermore, removing the leaves beforehand is nearly IMPOSSIBLE (they will rip before you are able to remove them!). NOTE #2: As Avon Lady suggests, be SURE to remove the thickest part of the "spine" of each cabbage leaf. Otherwise, they will not roll easily! Other than doubling the sauce (a MUST), adding a can of diced tomatoes and topping with a layer of (drained) sauerkraut, I made no major changes. Pierogies and steamed peas rounded out our meal. Thanks for sharing, BJ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Quadruple sauce at a MINIMUM. use half pork sausage half ground round core cabbage head and place entire head in to be steamed- leaves fall off. Do not freeze cabbage- makes leaves rubbery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I had never tried cabbage rolls but allrecipies emailed me this and it sounded so good and easy I had to try it. And I'm sure glad I did! It was easy to make (the most difficult part was fishing the hot leaves out of the boiling water I may try the freezing idea next time.) Here are the few tweeks I did: I hate onion so I went with onion powder I added garlic powder (my personal taste) My tomato sauce was in a 16oz can so I doubled the sauce (which I'm glad I did) I also added lemon pepper and garlic powder to the sauce And I only had regular ground beef so I reserved some of the sauce and when they were done I served them in a dish that would drain the grease off and put the reserved sauce on top. The results were great! I love recipes that leave room for the addition of personal taste. You can easily add other ingredients to make this your own personal dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sahm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These were great! Of course I tweaked it alittle. Instead of ground beef, I used ground turkey and instead of white rice, I used brown. I added 2 teaspoons of minced garlic, upped the onion to 1/2 to 3/4 cup and omitted the salt. I tripled the sauce but only added 2 tablesspoons of brown sugar. The flavor was amazing. We really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I liked this recipe. My husband did not. I did put the sour Kraut on as one reviewer suggested. I would like it to have alittle more kick to it. But over all, it is a nice dish. Great for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was definitely a big hit in our house. Even my husband (who hates cabbage) loved these cabbage rolls. I did triple the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Great recipe. My mother always cooked her cabbage rolls in water for awhile so she could drain the fat and then she added the sauce and continued cooking. She also froze her head of cabbage, thawed and the leaves were ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States