Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved this recipe! I am on WW and figured this would be low in points and it was. I got 10 rolls out of it with each roll being only 3pts and 2 rolls was all I need for dinner. I had never tasted stuffed cabbage before so I had no preconceived notion of how this would taste. However, my husband is Polish and he loved it as well and gobbled it up. He said the only difference was that this sauce was sweet whereas his mothers sauce was not. I did take other reviewers suggestions when I made this. I added some garlic powder to the ground beef as well as a little of the tomato sauce mixture. I also used brown rice and I doubled the sauce. I also doubled the brown sugar but next time I will use less. I cooked it in the crockpot for about 5hrs. My only trouble was with the cabbage leaves. I couldnt pull them off without breaking so I put the cabbage in a pot of boiling water and that seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnLeeW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have made them over 10 times My family loves them. I cook them in the over for 2 hours. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeleine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Great, easy recipe. As other reviewers suggested, double the sauce so there is some to use after they bake if you cook them in the oven. There may be enough sauce if you crockpot them? I wanted something quick so in the oven they went. Another review hint I used was to cover the rolls with extra cabbage, worked well as the rolls didn't get too dark, and it saved some tinfoil. no problem taking off the leaves when the cabbage boiled, I cut around the center before cooking and as the leaves cooked off, I pulled them out of the pot with tongs. this recipe made 7 rolls for me, my cabbage was pretty big and we stuffed them pretty good. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Tried it, the whole family enjoyed it - with the addition of various sauces. The recipe for the sauce should be doubled or even tripled. The recipe given did tend to dry up a bit. My husband recommended making the rolls without the sauce and adding an Asian twist and using soyaki sauce (from trader joes) in the slow cooker for the last hour or so with it next time. Also, I should have listened to the other reviewers about freezing the cabbage first. It was a true lesson in patience to get the cabbage leaves of the head intact - i wont be doing it that way again! Will try it again. Good base recipe - lots of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLaLaurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Was ok.Wasnt bad just wasnt are thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
These were just like I remember my mom fixing as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have tried this recipe exactly as written as well as tired it with a few of the modifications that were suggested by other reviewers and I just can't bring myself to like it as much as other cabbage roll recipes that I've tried; sorry. I think it may be the lemon juice in the sauce, there was an odd tang that I did not enjoy. Great cheap and easy meal idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was very good. As others suggested I did double the sauce and I agree it would have been rather dry had I not. The only other changes I made were to use ground turkey instead of beef and to add some garlic powder to the meat mix. Served with mash potatoes. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
loved it! we didn't change one thing about this and it was amazing. so many leftovers and did well throughout the week as lunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manda929

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Made this for the whole fam last night. Followed recipe except for a couple of tweaks. Used ground venison since that is what we had and took other's advice to cut back on black pepper, but added 1 small can Rotel's new sauce to sauce recipe. Baked in the oven and turned out delish! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States