Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
For easy whole cabbage leaves..cut the root end off the head, then plunge the whole head of cabbage in a pot of boiling water. As the leaves soften- lift the head with a long handled fork and peel the individule leaves of one by one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is a well known recipe in South Africa, where it is known as "grandmother in a blanket." I often make it for my family. Often I would leave out the rice, and pour beef stock over before baking it in the oven or slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made these, however, I chose to eliminate the sugar, lemon juice,and Worcestershire sauce. I added extra tomato sauce, about a 1/4 cup, combining it with the meat mixture. I cooked my in a large pot on the stove top about 1 1/2 hours on med heat, slow boil. If I have extra cabbage leaves, I shred them and add them with the rolls. They freeze well, too, that is, if you have any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
OMG, it was so delicious, although I listened to others but quadrupling the sauce and I cooked it in the oven at 325 degrees for 1.5 hours and everyone LOVED them! I also used can tomatoes and I crushed the tomatoes with a fork and my hands. Next time I am going to add more ingredients like garlic and more onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! Even my daughter who doesn't like cabbage admitted that these were good! I used the method of boiling the entire head of cabbage and pulling the leaves off as they became tender. That worked pretty well for me. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
The meat flavor was very good, I did what the other reviewers suggested, I doubled the tomato sauce, I put them in a crock pot for 8-9 hours, the cabbage seem like it was cooked away, next time I will try putting them in the oven and baking them instead, I also froze the cabbage like some one had suggested, was so much easier, the leaves was so easy to work with, I will always do that, thank you so much for that suggection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These were good. I did double the sauce and added garlic. I also double the recipe because I had a couple of cabbages from my garden I needed to use up. I also gave some to my neighbor who him and his son loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I found this very bland, however it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This came out flavorless in the slow cooker, although the sauce was pretty good prior to cooking it. This recipe is probably salvageable if not made in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States