Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
AWESOME! Doubled the sauce like many others did. Other than that, didn't make any changes. Tastes just like my grandma and grandpa used to make. Brought back great memories. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlezenkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this recipe twice and have enjoyed it each time. It's a little time intesive but not hard, and kinda messy to prepare. Worth the effort tho. Fortunately I put it together on a Sunday night for Monday's slow cooker meal. I would have been crazy frantic if I tried to tackle this after a long day at the office. Great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Funny....I thought I followed the directions exactly, but I guess I didn't! I just noticed another reviewer caution about using a lean meat since the meat isnt' cooked before stuffing the cabbage! Well, this is the 2nd time I am making it, and I cooked the meat both times before stuffing and it is still delicious! I doubled the recipe and made 16.....and quadrupled the sauce quantity (I had just enough with a single batch the last time, but prefer more.....then I placed in 4 portioned out freezer dinner containers that I can pop into the crock pot. This worked well the last time. Also STEAMED the cored head of cabbage this time, and it was much easier to work with than boiling. I didn't notice this the last time I made it, but tasting the meat stuffing mix....it tasted VERY peppery! I am hoping once I cook it in the crock pot, the sauce will tone it down....that is what prompted me to look at reviews after I made it, I wanted to see if others said the same thing, and they did! If it tastes as good as it did the first time I made it, I'll continue to use the stated amount of pepper in the recipe...just beware...you can always add more to taste when serving! This recipe is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
As a vegetarian I used morning star veggie crumbles and it was simply delicious!!! My dad loved it!! (Hard to please when it comes to vegetarian dishes!). I used 1/3 of a cup for the filling and it was a perfect size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Replaced beef with turkey and brown rice instead of white!! Very cheap and healthy meal I doubled meat and sauce x4 froze the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a decent start to what could be a great recipe. The actual meat needs more flavor/spices to make it pop a little bit. I would also double the sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe is just okay if you follow it to the T, which was what I did. I felt like it needed more seasoning. So, if I make this again, I will definitely tweak it to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I would add less brown sugar because the tomato sauce is so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Wonderful!!!!!!! I hate to say it but I did change two things. We used a local bulk pork sausage instead of hamburger and I am a mother of three with spontanious cooking and needed things done in 1 hour instead of 8 so I simmered mine in a stovetop pan for nearly 45 minutes. Was so good I can not wait to make again...with my own twists! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moon77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these last night and they went ovr VERY well, thinking I'd have some for left-over lunch today.NOT!!!! I did make a few changes, I put the cabbage in ice cold water for 10 minutes so the leaves would pull off the head easily. I got this tip off another recipe. I also par boiled the leaves for 4 minutes, then drained and cooled them before stuffing. I also cut back on the sweetness of the sauce!!!! These are so good!! Had garlic cheese bread with them and that's what was for dinner last night!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States