Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
These were just like I remember my mom fixing as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have tried this recipe exactly as written as well as tired it with a few of the modifications that were suggested by other reviewers and I just can't bring myself to like it as much as other cabbage roll recipes that I've tried; sorry. I think it may be the lemon juice in the sauce, there was an odd tang that I did not enjoy. Great cheap and easy meal idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was very good. As others suggested I did double the sauce and I agree it would have been rather dry had I not. The only other changes I made were to use ground turkey instead of beef and to add some garlic powder to the meat mix. Served with mash potatoes. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
loved it! we didn't change one thing about this and it was amazing. so many leftovers and did well throughout the week as lunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manda929

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Made this for the whole fam last night. Followed recipe except for a couple of tweaks. Used ground venison since that is what we had and took other's advice to cut back on black pepper, but added 1 small can Rotel's new sauce to sauce recipe. Baked in the oven and turned out delish! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was my first time ever making cabbage rolls. I used this as a base recipe. I doubled the recipe and used half ground venison, half ground beef. I added extra onions, 4 chopped cloves of garlic, and ground thyme to the meat. I had to exempt the egg because I did not realize I was out until I went to add it to the mix. Worked fine without the egg. I used half tomato sauce, half marinara sauce and tripled the sauce. Next time, I will make more rice to have as a side. I will also put a thick layer of chopped cabbage leaves down before laying the rolls down. I boiled the cabbage head and took off the leafs one at a time. I also made my rolls a little thick. Next time I will use half the meat in them so I get more cabbage to meat. Great base recipe. I also cooked this in the oven. 350 for 1.5 hrs tightly covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Dice
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My grandma used to make cabbage rolls for me, and they were my favorite! Now she's gone, and I have been wanting to try making them myself. This recipe was almost exactly what I was craving! The only changes I made were to include beef soup base when cooking the rice, and I doubled the sauce. It was delicious as is, but the next time I make it, I might add a little bit of the sauce to the beef mix before rolling it up. Fantastic recipe, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
very good! took some of the other's suggestions and doubled the onions, doubled the sauce and added a pinch of garlic powder to the meat mixture. Hubster ate almost the entire pot and my 2yr old had 2 :D next time will add a layer of sour kraut and maybe even triple the sauce. doubling or tripling the sauce is a MUST!! UPDATE: adding sauerkraut on top of the other additions I mentioned knocks these out of the park! YUM this is a recipe I can't wait to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was really good. Thank you Saltair4 for the tip about freezing the cabbage. I wish I had known this years ago. We might have had stuffed cabbage more often. It worked great. I did use more sauce. Instead of canned tomato sauce, I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and it could still have used more sauce. But it worked great in the slow cooker. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The sauce really makes this dish...although I used a 29 oz. can and multiplied the lemon juice, brown sugar and worcestershire sauce by 3-1/2. Also, the cabbage leaves need to be boiled much longer, more like 5 minutes. Mine were too hard to handle when rolling, and were tough when the dish was finished. I baked it at 350 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 828) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States