Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I added 1 lb Italian sausage along with the ground beef and doubled the other ingredients in the meat mixture except the salt and pepper added 2 garlic cloves cooked covered in a Dutch oven at 375. I did not have double the sauce we had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Double the sauce mixture. Wow, recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It was a lot of work stuffing the cabbage. The tomato sauce was bland. Next time I think I will make "deconstructed cabbage rolls" and use red cabbage for a better color contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooking Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This recipe done many times my favorite. I make it with 1/2 ground beef 1/2 ground pork, the pork with the tomato sauce with brown sugar makes it a little more sweat taste, no need for any toppings like sour cream as some recipe I do add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Madott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Definitely not a favorite around our dinner table and seemed to be lacking in seasoning. Tomato sauce was too runny for our liking. Will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Delicious! My husband went back for seconds, which is always a great sign! I precooked the beef, onions mixture and added garlic (3 cloves) and a green pepper and skipped the milk and egg. I also doubled the sauce and cooked in my oven at 350 for 1.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
i first put the cabbage head in water, bring to boil and pill off leaves just as soon as u can so not to over cook, for filling i use half cooked rice, ground beef, onion, S&P 1/2 can tomato soup, place the rolls in cooker and add 1 & 1/2 cans of tomato soup topped with cooked crispy bacon. this was my Polish mom's way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herminie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
To be fair, this is the correct rating for this recipe as written. It is too dry and a bit too bland. Plus, it really helps to steam the cabbage head to make the cabbage easier to work with. So, having said that, if you double the sauce (or even triple it which I like to do to pour over mashed potatoes), add some garlic and basil and steam the cabbage, you will have a five star recipe for sure! Oh, and just a personal preference, I use very lean ground turkey in place of the ground beef. Much leaner and far less fat and grease in your dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
We just love cabbage rolls, our Mom used to do then often. When I find a new recipe, I will try it. It is our family all-time favorite, we did a huge batch, we let it cool then we freeze, we always drop some to our parents who can't cook much any more. It was hard not to eat too many. Our parents are in their 80's and they loved it also. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Everyone has their own way of making these.I do not use any salt,just pepper.I do the rice in low sodium beef broth and cabbage the same way.I use ketchup and mix a little bit sour cream and pepper.And I use brown rice instead of white.And bake them and serve with some good rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States